Artistic Avenger

Wishing BIG!

18 Comments

I loved this challenge! At Create with Connie and Mary there is a super fantastic sketch challenge that has so many variations and I’m super excited to see what everyone comes up with. Here is the sketch:

So what did I do? Well, as it turns out, I’ve used some retiring products. I’m going to try to highlight some retiring items over the next few weeks before showcasing new things later on in the month. I just would hate for you all to miss out on some of these great products.

The base for this card is Real Red and it is layered with Old Olive, Bashful Blue and then a piece of Playdate Designer Series paper.

When I first saw this sketch, I immediately saw candles. You see, earlier this week it was my birthday as well as my Mom and Dad have birthdays too!

I again used some Playdate Designer Series paper to make candles and flames. To make the flames I used the Full Heart Punch and cut in from the top centre of the heart to the bottom. This just makes the most perfect flames! The flames are sponged with Pumpkin Pie ink and have some added Rhinestones.

To finish off, I added some 5/8″ Early Espresso grosgrain, a little Old Olive button and a bow of 3/8″ Old Olive Taffeta Ribbon. For the sentiment, I used the stamp from Word Play and used coordinating colours of markers.

Please make sure you head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along with us!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Real Red, Bashful Blue, Whisper White.

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Real Red, Bashful Blue.

Stamps: Word Play.

Accessories: Playdate Designer Paper, Full Heart Punch, Rhinestones, 3/8″ Old Olive Taffeta, 5/8″ Early Espresso Grosgrain, Brights Buttons.

18 thoughts on “Wishing BIG!

  1. I love it !!! Super idea!!!

  2. Love it!! I’ll have to remember the flames trick! ***hmm, now why didn’t I think of that?*** LOL
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. LOVE IT! so bright and cheerful!

  4. LOVE IT!!!!

  5. Great take on the sketch!! I love how the card looks šŸ™‚

  6. Thanks for Sharing. What a great way to make a flame!! I love this colors and the card.

  7. Hi Carrie, I found your blog through Stampin’ Connection. Your cards are fabulous!

  8. WoW!! You are amazing! Love it

  9. OK this could be my all time favorite Carrie Card! (And you have created some pretty fabulous cards! ) So simple and so striking – wonderful graphic design – love it!

  10. This is so cute. I just love the candles!!

  11. Fantastic card Carrie!!! šŸ™‚

  12. Love this idea – thanks so much for sharing it!

  13. So cute Carrie, once again thanks for sharing!

  14. What a cool card! I love the giant candles!

  15. This is so wonderful! I think it is so clever to use those strips for candles! Just wonderful!

  16. This is really clever and stunning! Have a wonderful day!

  17. Pingback: Birthday Candles « Scrapper@heART

  18. Pingback: Wish Big | Ingram's Inky Ideas

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!