Artistic Avenger


9 Comments

A Glimmery Petal

This week at Create with Connie and Mary they’ve got a fantastic colour challenge for us all! Such wonderful colours, perfect to make a summery fun card!

I wanted to go fairly simple with this one as the colours are so bold so I went with an Old Olive base and I layered it with a portion of a Tempting Turquoise Scallop Square which I cut with my Big Shot and textured with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (and then sponged).

Next, I cut a Tempting Turquoise tag out using my Two Big Tags die and layered a piece of Whisper White on top. I then stamped a large flower using the retiring stamp set, Pick a Petal. Such a great set! After doing that, I set out to add some glimmer and shimmer!

I took the stamped Whisper White piece and covered it with Versamark and then Heat and Stick Powder. After I heated that, I sprinkled the whole thing with Dazzling Diamonds and heat it slightly to set the glitter. Fun huh?

I then stamped a couple of centre pieces from Pick a Petal – the first in Tangerine Tango and punched with the 1″ circle punch and the second in Old Olive and punched with the 1/2″ circle punch. On the smaller on, I added a bubble from the Build-A-Brads for a smooth effect.

Lastly, I added some 3/8″ Old Olive Taffeta Ribbon and a little tag using the Medium Jewelry tag punch and the Tiny Tags stamp set.

I’m liking this layout so much that I may just play around with it for a Convention swap! Oh, just wait, I’ve got some doozies to show you and my non-winning Artisan Award entries are coming up soon too!

I do hope you’ll head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along with this week’s challenge!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Old Olive, Tempting Turquoise, Tangerine Tango, Whisper White.

Ink:  Old Olive, Tempting Turquoise, Tangerine Tango, Versamark.

Stamps: Pick a Petal, Tiny Tags.

Accessories: Big Shot, Scallop Square Die, Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder, Heat and Stick Powder, Dazzling Diamonds, 3/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, Medium Jewelry tag punch, 1″ circle punch, 1/2″ circle punch, Build-A-Brads, Two Big Tags die.

