Artistic Avenger


27 Comments

Flyin’ Away: Non-Winning Artisan Award Project #1

It is with a heavy heart that I start posting these projects. I do love participating in the Artisan Award contest each year but each year have to post them here because I don’t win. I have been a past finalist but it just isn’t the same. I’m competitive. I like to win. I guess I don’t know what SU is looking for obviously or they are looking for a style that is not mine – and to stray from own style just to win is something I’m not prepared to do.  So, lucky you! You get to view them all here and now I have 10 posts added to my summer pre-post arsenol!

This is the first project I made and it was the one I knew exactly how it’d look and it didn’t stray too far from the original plan. I actually was inspired by a business card to make this. If I can find the link I’ll show you!

The base is Naturals Ivory. I love this paper. And the other colours I used were Basic Black, Very Vanilla and Crumb Cake (for shading and inside stamping).

I sewed some Newsprint designer paper to one side, clear embossed images from Plane and Simple on the other and made two cut outs in the centre of the front of the pocket to show the inside sentiment. I embossed the plane and cut it out and added “original” from Art By Design.

For the inside, I stamped various images from Plane and Simple along with a sentiment from Always. The top corner is rounded and I added a Basic Black button and some 3/8″ Twill tape. Now don’t forget about the back! This is actually my most favourite part!

At the top you’ll see the notch that shows the button and twill on the insert piece. Again, I sewed some Newsprint designer paper down one side and folded up the bottom with rounded corners.

I used my Scallop Square punch and 1″ circle to make a little peekaboo circle. It is kept on with Trinkets. And, if you look closely, the compass from Plane and Simple is embossed with clear embossing powder on the black cardstock.

I think this is the one project I’d like to have back. I just loved it. Oh well, c’est la vie! Maybe we can find it on the boards at Convention – that is where all my entries seem to end up….

Hope you have a great day and thanks for joining me on my creative journey.