Artistic Avenger


8 Comments

Don’t You Forget About Me…..

I just love that song, don’t you? If I could title every blog post with a good ol’ 80s song, I would! But I used this title for two reasons. The first is that this card is an oldie but goodie that I learned so long ago and the stamp set/accessories I’ve used are retiring.

This is one of the projects I did at my Downline traning meeting last night and that I’ll be showcasing at retiring workshops this month.

This type of card is called “waterfall” and I’ve got some really quick and easy instructions. Which I’ll add below.

I used the following colours: Marina Mist, Real Red, Garden Green and Night of Navy. A bright and fun combination! I used the Cheers to You stamp set and instead of stamping and colouring it in, I’ve just stamped each image with a coordinating colour. This card is just pure happiness!

Here are the instructions:

This is a really cool card. The white squares are 1 3/4 x 1 3/4″ on top of 2″ x 2″ purple squares. They are glued to the a white 9″ x 2″ strip of cs that is scored at 2″, 2 3/4″, 3 1/2″ & 4 1/4″. Bend your strip so that the scored lines fold. Fold in half using the center score line as the top, with the scored lines facing front and the unscored part at the back. This is your mechanism. Stamp, color and attach your 4 squares just beneath each score line.

The purple strip is attached only just under the bottom stamped image ON TOP OF the fold over piece of scored cs — that is the only place that it’s glued. It’s very important NOT to put any glue/tombo/whatnot on the back of the strip, or it will not slide! The purple strip is attached with brads to the pink/purple layers.

Pull the ribbon tab and the images flow!

Speaking of pure happiness, I wanted to talk briefly about my wonderful downline. Now, although there was a Canucks game on last night, many of them came out to our monthly meeting at my home. We discussed what is new on the horizon with Stampin’ Up!, Convention, Swaps and more! Then we started on our make and take projects (the one above is the first of three which I’ll share with you).

Then, Carole (my Convention roomie) began a lovely speech. I didn’t know where she was going with it but soon figured it out. I was again an Artisan Award “loser” this year and although I swore it wouldn’t bother me, it did. But this is a bonus for you all because this means I can post my projects here! (which I’ll do over the next month or so).

Anyhow, my dear friends presented me with the one-and-only “Master Artisan” Award to celebrate my artistic adventures. I was thrilled, very honoured and touched to be a part of this wonderful group. I’m so glad they all chose me to be a part of not only their SU businesses but their lives.

Here is a photo of us (a little goofy, but that’s us!):

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock:  Marina Mist, Night of Navy, Garden Green, Whisper White.

Ink: Marina Mist, Night of Navy, Garden Green, Real Red.

Stamps: Cheers to You.

Accessories:  Paper Trimmer, Silver Brads, Night of Navy Taffeta, Treehouse Designer Paper.

