Artistic Avenger


6 Comments

Stenciled for You

It’s Friday Mashup time again! Yeah! I am having such fun being on the design team for June and am sad to say that this will be my last entry. I do know that I will be visiting often though and hopefully I’ll find the time to participate in lots of the challenges!

The challenge, should you choose to accept it is:

  1. Create a project using the colours Cherry Cobbler, More Mustard and Very Vanilla.
  2. Create a project using the sketch by Kasey below.
  3. Or “Mash It Up” and make a project using the challenge colours and the sketch.

As always, I decided to put the two together and MASH IT UP! I used Very Vanilla as my card base and then layered it with a piece of Very Vanilla designer paper which I sponged with More Mustard ink.

In the centre, I added a Cherry Cobbler piece of cardstock punched with the Decorative label punch. I then decided to take one of our Decor Stencils (Elegant Trio) and sponged inside it with my Versamark ink pad. I then embossed it with clear embossing powder to get the look of a shaded and clear fleur de lis.

To finish off this project, I stamped the Eiffel Tower from Artistic Etchings on Very Vanilla cardstock and cut it out. I then sponged it with both Cherry Cobbler and More Mustard and adhered to the card with dimensionals.

The sentiment was stamped on More Mustard cardstock using Basic Black ink and it is from Just Believe. I then topped it all off with an Antique Brad.

Now it’s your turn to head on over to The Friday Mashup and play along!

Products used on today’s project –  CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Cherry Cobbler, More Mustard.

Ink: Versamark, Basic Black, Cherry Cobbler, More Mustard.

Stamps: Just Believe, Artistic Etchings.

Accessories: Clear embossing powder, heat tool, Decorative Label punch, Elegant Trio designer stencil, Antique Brads, Stampin’ Sponges, Neutral Designer Series Paper.


10 Comments

Fancy Flower – Inkspirations #75

I thought I’d try to do a little something different today. Taking a quick look at this, I don’t think I’d identify this as my own creation – not my typical style I don’t think. However, when I do post cards that I think that is the case, I have many comments saying they’d pick it as mine right away. Who knows!

Today’s project is brought to you by the colours pink and black and the sketch is from Inkspirations. This has been a great design team to belong to. Such wonderful challenges and a great team to work with.

I tried to follow the sketch pretty truly but actually turned it on it’s side in the end.

The base is Blushing Bride and the layer colours are Basic Black and Very Vanilla. I think the card itself is pretty easy to understand. LOTS of distressing and sponging but let me give you a close up of the flower:

I used the Fun Flowers Sizzix Die and cut out flowers with Newsprint Designer paper and Blushing Bride Designer paper. I then crumpled them up in my hands and spritzed them with water and crumpled them some more. I used my heat tool to dry them (because I’m too impatient to wait for them to dry on their own) and affixed them all together with an Antique Brad.

I added some pearls to each corner and a sprig of black leaves (thanks Renee for showing me that is okay!) and of course ribbon – two kinds actually!

You’ll notice that I added no sentiment on this card. That is on purpose. I think this card could be good for any occasion so I’m not putting a sentiment on it until I need to use it!

Thanks so much for stopping by today and I encourage you to play along with us at Inkspirations this week! Check out what the rest of the design team has done with this sketch too!

Cindy
Kirsty
Makeesha
Renée
Brandi
Carrie
Helen
Ilina
Lee-Anne
Marisa

Products used on today’s project- CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Blushing Bride, Basic Black, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Basic Black.

Stamps: NONE!

Accessories: Big Shot, Fun Flowers Die, 1 3/8″ Basic Black Striped Grosgrain, Basic Black Satin, Pearls, Antique Brads, Newsprint Designer Paper, Blushing Bride Designer Paper.