Artistic Avenger

All Wrapped Up

19 Comments

 

 

I’m still trying to find a spot in my new house to take my card photos. I like the wicker background from my barstool but I’m not sure I’m “in love” with it. You know? Chime in and let me know your thoughts!

 

This card is inspired by the ย Merry Monday sketch challenge. I love sketch challenges! And, I decided to use an old idea, infuse it with something new and I’m quite happy with the result.

 

The base for this card is Poppy Parade and it’s layered with a piece of Chocolate Chip and then some retired holiday designer paper. This is the vertical layer in the sketch. Yes, I took some creative license here with the layering but ultimately the layers are all there!

 

Remember a while back I made that kleenex box card? Well, I used the same idea but changed the size slightly. I stamped the Wild Wasabi card stock with a stamp from Artistic Etchings and sponged it. I then added strips of Poppy Parade to look like ribbons and then I made my paper bow.

 

This super cute bow is made using 3/8″ strips of card stock and my Medium Jewelry tag punch! I will do a wee tutorial to show you how. It is SO easy!

 

I finished it off with some bling and a little tag. Voila! I think this would be super fun as a birthday card using fun bright colours.

 

Oh, on a personal note. THANK YOU so much everyone for your very kind welcome back! I am very touched at every word you’ve sent my way. Really. Thank you.

 

x0x0


19 thoughts on “All Wrapped Up

  1. All tied up with a bow – and one fabulous bow that is! Very cute!

  2. So stinking cute!! And the bow made with the jewelry tag punch is genius! As for the chair background….it works. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. chair background is too busy

  4. I get so excited when I see a post from you in my feed! Yippee, she’s posting again! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I know what you mean about trying to find a good photo spot. We’ve been in our new house for a year, and I’m still looking… The lighting looks good in your picture. I’m with you on the wicker…Hmmmm…It works. But, honetly, the projct is so cute, it doesn’t matter where you take the pictre! ๐Ÿ™‚ So happy to “see you” again Carrie! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I too am glad she started to stamp again. This means I can get nice cards for my customers this christmas rather than the ones they got last year!

  6. Carrie, I am liking the wicker. Adds a rustic crafty charm. I was checking my email and was looking at my daily card blogs from her ladies. And not to say that the other ladies aren’t awesome, it’s just that your style and the beauty of the things you create inspired me the most. I heavily considered selling all of my card making supplies, I haven’t created anything in over 5 months, and today I decided to look at some of your older post, and here you are!!!! Creating beautiful cards again. I
    am truely happy to see you creating again. Even if it is just a little bit here and there. Because you do inspire me, and I love that one person has such talent in creating.

  7. Wow, you are really back with a bang! Love the cards you’ve been sharing and I just love this present!

  8. finding a good photo spot??..LMK when you do (any buddy??) I love this paper, & I still have lots of it, so thank you for sharing…AGAIN, I’m so WOOPIE happy you’ve returned to blog land…I’ve really missed you, even if we’re on opposite ends of Canada!!

  9. Carrie, WOW!! this is stunning and so cute. I love the details of the bow, tag, and everything. Amazing work, plus I saw the Kleenex card and loved that to. Your very creative.

  10. Hey Carrie… you’re back! We’re on vacation and I had a chance to check my email and there you were… in my inbox! Lovely, lovely cards as always. Glad to see some cards from you. We were in WR the other day and I thought of you… hoped you were doing well. Hope you’re enjoying your new house… we also just moved a few weeks ago… busy, busy, busy! Say hi to the ladies if you see them at all!

    Take care!

  11. Fabulous card, I love the colours and the bow is beautiful. Thank you for joining us for Merry Monday this week.

  12. What a cute card…love the present. I think your choice of where to take your picture is perfect…it adds interest to the photo but doesn’t distract.

  13. Carrie, so glad you played with us at Merry Monday this week! Your haven’t lost your touch, your card is adorable!

  14. Fun card—your usual fun spin on creativity shining through! I can’t wait to see your jewelry tag video! Thanks for playing with us at Merry Monday!!

  15. Fabulous card, Carrie! Love the papers, colors and that adorable little box on the front of your card! Awesome idea, too! Thanks for playing along with us this week over at Merry Mondays! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Really cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Love the bow made with cardstock……….very fun. Loved the kleenex card! So inventive!

  18. I love the way you made a package as a focal point for this card, Carrie! The bow is really sweet. I’ll look forward to the tutorial. Thanks for sharing with us at Merry Monday!

  19. SOO happy to have you back! That bow looks absolutely gorgeous! The way you used the tag punch to make it is very clever!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

