Artistic Avenger

A Chilly Season (CCMC178)

16 Comments

Time for a fun challenge everyone! Check out this week’s sketch at Create with Connie and Mary and play along.

 

For my challenge, I wanted to make a fun winter card. I started with my colour combo of Very Vanilla, Real Red and Crumb Cake. I love the glitter polka dots pattern from the Holly Berry Bouquet designer paper package and didn’t want to take anything away from it so I kept this as the only pattern.

 

I looped some Real Red Satin ribbon for a little extra softness against all the crisp lines of this sketch.

 

 

 

This hat was super easy to make using Stampin’ Up!’s punches. I used the Wide Oval punch for the top of the hat. I then ran it through my Big Shot with the Snow Burst embossing folder. I did sponge this a bit with my Crumb Cake ink. For the brim, I used two of the stocking tops from the Stocking Builder punch. I covered the seam with two Mini Jingle Bells.

 

The sentiment is from Many Merry Messages – it is actually a much larger sentiment – I love cutting up phrases to have a more personalized greeting.

 

The top pom-pom was made using a technique I learned at Convention this past year. Take your Baker’s Twine and wrap it around a pencil or another not too wide object. Once you get enough Twine to suit your liking, take it off the object and tie the middle together. Then you cut off each end and fluff it up.

 

To make this not look so white, I sponged it slightly with the Crumb Cake ink.

 

I bet you could come up with some amazing ideas with this sketch! Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along!

 

Products used on today’s project РCLICK HERE to buy them NOW!:


Cardstock:
Real Red, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla.


Ink:
Crumb Cake, Basic Black.


Stamps:
Many Merry Messages.


Accessories:
Holly Berry Bouquet Designer Paper, Real Red Satin Ribbon, 2 1/2″ circle punch, Big Shot, Snowburst Embossing Folder, Wide Oval Punch, Stocking Builder punch, Baker’s Twine, Mini Jingle Bells.

16 thoughts on “A Chilly Season (CCMC178)

  1. I love this little winter hat (beanie here in Aus). Just adorable!

  2. Oh Carrie…LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the winter hat!!! Darling! Awesome card as usual!

  3. This is the cutest card ever!! I love those little jingle bells too!!

  4. I LOVE this little hat!! How clever!! Your card is just wonderful!

  5. Darling card! The hat can’t be beat! Wonderful sketch implementation.

  6. Love it! So cute and a great use of the punches and sentiment!

  7. Fantastic! Love the hat – and the ribbon is gorgeous!

  8. You are amazing, Carrie! This card is fabulous!! Love the embossed hat top, the colour combo, ribbon treatment and card. Wonderful take on the sketch!

  9. OMGosh! Your card with the snow cap is absolutely adorable! TFS!

  10. Carrie this is such a fun card…your stocking hat with the pom pom is darling! Who wouldn’t love to get this in the mail?!? Love your creativity and that you share it with all us stamp crazed women!!

    Merry Christmas Carrie!

  11. Carrie: This is such a fun card! I love that little hat! The bells just make it even better! You are my card-superhero!!!

    Chera

  12. I’ll just reiterate what everyone else has said…SO cute! Love it!

  13. Absolutely adore your card!!!! So creative and fun!!!!

  14. I just LOVE the hat, reminds me of my 3 year old grand-daughter Kaitlynn’s hats. What an adorable idea!

  15. Oh Carrie, that is so stinkin’ CUTE! Love the little twine pom-pom and the jingle bells are perfect! Fantastic card, my friend! It’s always inspiring to visit you!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

