Artistic Avenger

A Wreath-y Cute Card (CCMC176)

7 Comments

 

 

I love sketch challenges – probably my most favourite of all types of challenges (colour coming in a close second). Now, this is a great sketch from Create with Connie and Mary and at first, I was totally stumped. I had an idea laying on my desk for quite some time, however, and decided that this was the sketch to use it on.

 

 

I wanted to make the bones of this card pretty basic so the fun wreath would stand out. So, I used a Crumb Cake base and added a wee layer of Real Red designer paper, some Chocolate Chip quilted ribbon and a little half circle accent with a pearl. Above that I stamped a sentiment from Warmest of Wishes (for Hostesses ONLY!) in Early Espresso and again used a couple of cute pearls.

 

The vertical panel is a piece of Holly Berry Designer Series Paper (didn’t think I’d love this as much as I do!) and on each end, I addd a bit of Early Espresso cardstock (actually scallop squares just adhered underneath).

 

For the wreath, I cut out two of the scallop circles from the new Pennant Die – one in Wild Wasabi and one in Garden Green.

 

The Garden Green one was scored (using my Simply Scored) in the centre and then at an even mark from centre to end. I then did the same with the Wasabi one but I cut it and sponged the edges. Then I adhered to alternate panels of the Garden Green one. Hard to tell the variation in colour from the photo, but it’s there.

 

I punched out the bird using Watercolour Paper as it gives a nice texture and then added a few little flowers in Real Red (emulating the flowers in the designer paper).

 

This card was fun to make and packs a great “punch” (yeah, totally intended that pun!).

 

Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along with us!

 

Products used on today’s project РCLICK HERE to buy them NOW!:


Cardstock:
Crumb Cake, Real Red, Wild Wasabi, Garden Green, Early Espresso, Watercolour Paper.


Ink:
Early Espresso, Garden Green.


Stamps:
Warmest of Wishes.


Accessories:
Simply Scored, Big Shot, Pennant Die, 2-Step Bird Punch, Bitty Punch Pack, Bolds Designer Paper, Quilted Chocolate Chip ribbon, Basic Pearls, Holly Berry Designer Paper.

7 thoughts on “A Wreath-y Cute Card (CCMC176)

  1. What a great way to make a wreath! I never would have thought of that! I love the dove on it, too! Just beautiful!

  2. What’s not to love here? I love how you interpreted the sketch. I love the wreath. Love the pearls, the dove, the punched flowers…see! Great card, Carrie!

  3. Wow…didn’t even realize it was two colors until I read your description! I love the look of it…and the darling bird on top! Great way to do the color blocking without all paper, too!!! Awesome, as usual, Carrie!

  4. Carrie this card is fantastic! Love all the interest and colors you have chosen. I’m amazed at how you take a challenge and make something so wonderful out of it! This is a beauty!

  5. I really like the wreath using the pennant die – clever idea – and the sweet bird punched from watercolor paper.

  6. I too like how you used the Pennant Die to make a wreath. The little birdie is so cute!

  7. Carrie, this is soooo stinkin’ clever and I love the way you’ve used the sentiment as part of the sketch. That wreath is the bomb!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

