Artistic Avenger

It’s Ornamental (PP71)

12 Comments

A great friend has recently gone back to school and has recently graduated so I wanted to make a very special card for her to show her how proud of her I am!

 

I used this week’s Paper Players challenge (which is GREAT) as my starting point for this card. Here is what I used:

  • 2 kinds of ribbon (basic black grosgrain, basic black satin)
  • punch (ornament punch)
  • 3 kinds of designer paper (Pick your Poison, Very Vanilla Designer paper, Basic Black Designer paper, First Edition Designer paper)
  • bling (glimmer brad, dazzling diamonds)

Like that little hat? Well, I used a punch for that! Remember a week or so back when I made that ornament arrow border? Well, it looked something like this:

Start with a piece of cardstock and make a line (this one is 1/2″ from the edge).

 

 

Then you continue along the line so you’ll get the arrows. The photo below shows you how the size of the arrows change when you make the line 1/2″ from the edge and then 1/4″ from the edge.

 

So as you can see, I cut one of the little arrows off and that became the graduation hat!

 

I had such fun making this card and although simple looking, there are lots of elements involved.

 

Thanks for stopping by today!

 

12 thoughts on “It’s Ornamental (PP71)

  1. You’re such a brain yourself! Great job again thinking outside of the paper crafting box!

  2. You have such vision! Of course you can use a Christmas punch to make a graduation hat! Love it!

  3. So Creative! Love the Graduation Hat. Thanks’ for Playing at The Paper Players this week.

  4. Freakin’ Brilliant! TFS!!!

  5. Clever!! I don’t have any graduation set, so I’ll have to remember that trick!!

  6. You are unbelievable Carrie! This is fantastic…fabulous idea and a great use of the challenge elements! So glad you joined us at The Paper Players this week!

  7. As always…so unique and creative, Carrie! The hat is fabulous! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

  8. Holy cow, whodda thought out of the ornament punch…only you, great job! Love the card too.

  9. Carrie, this is just a gorgeous! I love the simplicity of the colors and the design. And, what a great tip on the cap. You’re just too clever 😉 Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players!

  10. You’re just so clever!! Wonderful grad card….elegant but fun! Thanks for playing with us this week at the Paper Players!

  11. Carrie, where do I start? I just love how you used the three patterns in a very subtle way to make sure all of those fabulous details took center-stage. That graduaion cap? Well, it ROCKS!! You are so creative with your ideas…you always amaze me. This is just awesome. Thank you SO much for playing along with my recipe chalenge this week at the Paper Players. Big hugs to you! 🙂

  12. Hey Carrie,
    You sure came up with a cool idea…love this! Thanks for sharing. What is new with you? I do really hope we can hang out sometime soon. Thanks for joining us at the Paper Players!
    Hugs,
    Lesley

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

