Artistic Avenger

Nice and Neutral (PPA118)

19 Comments

I’m super excited to share that I’ve been asked to play along as a Featured Artist at Pals Paper Arts this week! Such an honour to play along with these amazing artists.

 

My challenge was to use the neutrals above on a project. I love these three colours and use them often. With this particular challenge, I wanted to make a type of card that you wouldn’t necessarily think of when seeing this colour combo.

 

 

So I made a baby card. I’ve had the Button Buddies set sitting on my desk for a while now and knew that this challenge would be the one to get it out and inky!

 

I started with the Soft Suede base and then layered on some Early Espresso and a piece of River Rock cardstock. The River Rock layer was embossed with the Houndstooth Embossing folder (I actually inked it up with River Rock before embossing for a more “in your face” impression).

 

The central panel was next. I stamped three rattles on the Whisper White cardstock – one in each of the challenge colours and then again on some scrap. I punched the rattle part out with my 3/4″ circle punch, added it with a Dimensional. I then added pearl accents and each got a bow of 1/8″ Taffeta.

 

 

For a little softness, I added a strip of ripped Spice Cake Designer fabric. Once I did that I stamped the sentiment from Friendly Phrases.

 

Once I finished all those steps, I sat back and looked at the card. I liked it but it was missing something. So, I took a piece of Early Espresso designer paper and scored it with my Simply Scored every 1/2″. I then fanned it out and adhered to the back of the rattle piece.

 

Again I sat back. It needed one more thing. So I went to my new “go to”, Best Friends Forever, and added the large flourish stamped in Soft Suede ink – framed it perfectly!

 

I do so hope you’ve enjoyed my project today and that you’re inspired to play along with the team at Pals Paper Arts this week!

 

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!:


Cardstock:
Early Espresso, Soft Suede, River Rock, Whisper White.


Ink: 
Early Espresso, Soft Suede, River Rock.


Stamps:
Button Buddies, Best Friends Forever, Friendly Phrases.


Accessories:
Neutrals Designer Paper, 3/4″ circle punch, Spice Cake Designer Fabric, Simply Scored, Basic Pearls, Big Shot, Houndstooth Embossing Folder, 1/8″ Early Espresso Taffeta Ribbon.

19 thoughts on “Nice and Neutral (PPA118)

  1. When I saw the colors, I wasn’t too sure….but this is such a fun card! Love the layout and the pleated embellishment!

  2. Carrie I LOVE this card! Wish I’d seen it one week earlier. We JUST gave a baby outfit gift for a little boy in shades of browns. It was adorable! And this card would have been perfect. NEVER thought about a baby card in browns… so cool!
    I love the BG stamp behind the ruffle scallop and those little rattles are adorable! Hugs.

  3. What a perfect baby card, Carrie! You never disappoint! I love the pearls on the rattles. The fabric does indeed add softness. The Flourish with the large pleated rosette is the perfect touch! Thanks for being our Guest Designer at Pals Paper Arts!

  4. Amazing Carrie! Each Rattle has it’s own personality and style! Beautiful Work and love all the techniques combined to set this card off!

  5. Ok now I am going to start calling you Triple A – for Amazing Artistic Avenger! How you can take one simple little rattle stamp and turn it into this gorgeous creation I will never know! I know a girl who just had triplets – honest – and she is so going to get a card that looks pretty much like this one! Love the fabric trim and the top flourishes! So glad you were our Guest!

  6. Gorgeous use of the colour combo, Carrie! Love how you created a baby card. The half medallion up top is fabulous.

  7. Wow! I am so impressed with this card! Love the neutrals on a baby card and how you gave life to that rattle from the Button Buddies set. It looks incredible!

  8. Love this card, Carrie! The layout, the embellishments, and the color combination! Way to go!

  9. This card is awesom Carrie. Love all the elements!

  10. What a beautiful card, Carrie! Love that you used the challenge colors to create a baby card! The rattles in the different shades of brown worked out beautifully for your card! Wonderful job with the challenge!

  11. Beautiful, right down to the pearls and ruffles. Very creative use of the colors.

    Thank you!

  12. Congrats on being the PPA guest designer and lucky them, you made a stunning card! Very cute with the popped up rattles, and the fanned dp and the flourish above the main image were brilliant ideas yielding beautiful results!!

  13. This is very well done!!

  14. Carrie, this is the coolest baby card!! I love the colors together and I love your card!! The little fan up above is perfect there! TFS!

  15. Wow, gorgeous card Carrie!!!! Great use of the colors. Very unique design with great elements.

  16. Carrie, this is one fabuluous and fresh baby card! Love that you used the browns on it and I love all your little details like the bows and pearls on the rattles. My absolute favorite part is the ruffle of DSP and the flourish in the background–its absolutely perfect!

  17. Hi Carrie – I came across your baby card on Pinterest a few weeks ago and saved it to my Card Inspiration board because I just love the baby card done in browns! I just wanted to let you know that I created a card template based on your card for a challenge over at The Digichick dot com. Of course I’ll be giving you credit as inspiration for the template and linking your post here on your blog so everyone can Ooooo and Ahhhh over your gorgeous card!

  18. Pingback: March Card Template Challenge « The Hybrid Chick

  19. I love the pleated fan. Will you post the instructions on how you made this. Or, do you have a video.

    Thank You!
    Louise Luna

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

