Artistic Avenger

Sweet and Soft & a DT Call! (KKC03)

8 Comments

It’s time for another KA-POW Kreative Challenge! Yeah! This one is all about colour. With the gloomy fall days coming, I wanted to use a fun and bright combo. I loved this combination, however, I had an absence of brain cells when making my creation and used So Saffron instead of Daffodil Delight! But you’ll get the idea.

Make sure you head on over to the KA-POW Kreative Challenge page and check out the design team’s samples on this challenge! And, MORE EXCITING NEWS! I’ll be looking for guest designers starting in November! We will continue to have challenges every other week and we’re inviting other crafters to join us! If you are interested in playing along, I ask that you send two (2) photos of projects that represent your style and a brief write up about why you’d like to participate. You can send this to me at carriegaskin@shaw.ca.

As I said above, I used So Saffron for the base of this card and I punched out a bunch of 1 3/8″ circles and adhered to the base.

I was inspired by Mary Jo’s Monday Lunchtime Sketch Challenge for the layout of this card – it is just so great and easy to work with.

I put the Pumpkin Pie cardstock in the Stripes embossing folder and then sponged around the edges. This is adhered with Dimensionals. I then used a piece of the Blossoms and Berries designer series paper in Wisteria Wonder and placed it horizontally on the card.

For the central panel layer, I stamped the image from Lean on Me in Jet Black StazOn on watercolour paper and punched it out with my 2 1/2″ circle punch. I watercoloured it (and I did it very wet to have a bit of run of the colour – she is in the rain after all!) and then backed it with a scallop circle cut from the Pennant Die.

To finish it all off, I added a bow of 3/8″ Whisper White taffeta ribbon and a So Saffron button tied with Linen Thread.

I’d love to have you play along with us at KKC this week so head on over to the official KA-POW Kreative Challenge page and check out the Design Team samples and join us!

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!:


Cardstock: 
So Saffron, Pumpkin Pie, Wisteria Wonder, Watercolour Paper.


Ink:
Jet Black StazOn, So Saffron, Wisteria Wonder, Pumpkin Pie, Not Quite Navy, Sahara Sand.


Stamps:
Lean on Me.


Accessories:
Big Shot, Pennant Die, 2 1/2″ circle punch, 3/8″ Whisper White taffeta, Soft Subtles buttons, Aquapainter.

8 thoughts on “Sweet and Soft & a DT Call! (KKC03)

  1. Super cute of course. You crack me up with the paper!

  2. I love the punched out circles for the background – that’s a neat effect. Beautifully done!
    Marnie

  3. LOVE! The tone on tone circle are fabulous!

  4. Love your card and this color challenge! I’m going to have to case your card for sure! Hope I get a chance to play this week!!!!

  5. Your card is so soft and beautiful… I can practically feel the love and caring from the giver to the receiver. OK, that sounds weird, but hey… just sit back and look at it for a minute…

    I love it, Carrie!

    Anita

  6. Love all the textures. So pretty and that color combo is perfect! What a great card. I think this is the first card I seen with this set that made me say–shoot I need this set too! Thanks, lol! Seriously, thanks for playing along with my sketch challenge this week!

  7. This is lovely – soft and sweet! Love those big circles!

  8. Super cute card and I love all the different textures!! Fantastic as always. Also, I think I’m going to apply to your DT call. I’ll email you my stuff over the next day or so. What a great oppertunity.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

