Artistic Avenger

Butterfly Trio (SSC224)

10 Comments

Hello All! This is my first post as a Guest Designer on Stamping 411 this month! Super excited to share this sketch challenge with you.

 

I find when I start with a sketch like this I want to pretty much keep right with the shapes of the sketch but I decided to “stray” a bit on it and play around with different shapes.

 

 

This card was actually made using our Note Cards and envelopes. These are a great value and so easy to use as they come cut and pre-scored!

 

On the base I used my Daffodil Delight ink and stamped the leaf image from Best Friends Forever. I then layered a central panel of Old Olive and stamped the flourish is Old Olive ink. I roughed up with edges a bit, added some Melon Mambo scalloped cardstock to the top and a layered Decorative Label punch (stamped with a word from Fabulous Phrases) on the bottom.

 

I used the Beautiful Wings embosslit and made some Melon Mambo and Daffodil Delight butterflies to add a pop of colour. I then tied a knot of Old Olive 1/4″ Grosgrain. I took my extra sharp Craft and Ribbon scissors and cut one end away and pulled the threads to make a fun pulled grosgrain. I covered the knot with a flower from the Bitty Punch pack and a Basic Rhinestone.

 

I love this design and will play with more colour combinations in the future! Make sure you head on over to see what the rest of the Stamping 411 design team has created to share with you!


Cardstock:
Old Olive, Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight, Whisper White.


Ink:
Daffodil Delight, Old Olive.


Stamps:
Best Friends Forever.


Accessories:
Big Shot, Beautiful Wings Embosslit, 1/4″ Old Olive grosgrain, Decorative Label Punch, Note Cards, Bitty Punch Pack, Basic Rhinestones, Dotted Ribbon Scallop Punch.

10 thoughts on “Butterfly Trio (SSC224)

  1. I was on 411 site and looked at the cards, saw yours and before I read who made it, I thought that looks like something Carrie would do….I love your style. Wish I could be so clean and simple, mine always looks “bare”..very pretty and nice job..thanks

  2. I love when you “stray” from the original design – you can’t keep that creativity locked up – gotta set it
    free 🙂 The frayed ribbon rocks!

  3. Gorgeous Carrie! Love the color combo, the butterflies, the frayed ribbon and the fabulous envelope! TFS!
    Laura

  4. This card is beautiful Carrie!! Thanks so much for guest designing with us this month. Your work is amazing and you are an awesome lady!! I am so happy to be able to call you a friend!!

    Take care
    Tiffany

  5. Thanks so much for Guest Designing this month Carrie. I so admire all you do. This card is gorgeous and so simple….it definitely has the Carrie touch!

  6. I love this card, Carrie! The Beautiful Wings Embosslit is one of my favorites and I love your color choices.
    Sue aka The Soggy Stamper

  7. Carrie, this card is amazing. The butterflies look like they are about to flutter off the card!!! Thanks so much for being a guest designer this month!!! We are so excited to have you!!

  8. What a beautiful card especially love the fun frayed ribbon knot

  9. Hi Carrie! First, thanks for being a guest designer on 411 this month. You are a star and I cant wait to see what else you have in store for us! Just awesome!

  10. this is so great — I love the movement across the card!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

