Artistic Avenger

Tappin’ the Keys

14 Comments

I was inspired to play along with two great challenges today – Freshly Made Sketches and The Paper Players.

 

The sketch is fantastic and I had so many ideas but I thought I’d check to see what the Players had going on and was inspired to play along with their music inspired challenge – even though I don’t have any music themed stamp sets!

 

I decided my inspiration would be the instrument that I can play – the piano. So with that in mind, I set out. The colour scheme that came to mind with using a piano as my inspiration was black and white. It is a crisp and clean colour scheme and one that I felt I could work with.

 

I used a Basic Black card base and then layered it with some Basic Black designer series paper. Across the centre is some Basic Gray cardstock which was stamped with the Scallop trim border punch. I then tied on some Whisper White organza ribbon. You’ll notice that the designer paper and ribbon all has a stripe theme to them – I felt this kept in with the theme of piano keys. And keys – do you get it? Piano keys? Keys? Yeah, I thought I was pretty smart….maybe not but at least I thought so!

 

Tied on to the ribbon is a Beveled Window Pane with a sentiment from Tiny Tags. I also backed it with a Postage punch for a bit more interest.

 

For the tag (which is Whisper White), I stamped the swirls from Established Elegance in stamped off Basic Gray and then splattered using a Basic Gray marker. On it, I stamped, cut out and added with dimensionals three keys from Established Elegance. I cut off the legs (oh that sounds bad) of three Silver Mini Brads and adhered them to the top of the keys.

 

The top of the tag is a 1″ circle with some Whisper White organza and tied with some Basic Black 1/8″ taffeta.

 

Thanks for stopping to today! I hope you’ll check in tomorrow to see who the latest KA-POW Kreative Challenge Super Squad is!

 

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!:


Cardstock:
Basic Black, Whisper White, Basic Gray.


Ink:
Basic Black, Basic Gray.


Stamps: 
Tiny Tags, Established Elegance.


Accessories:
1″ circle punch, Scallop Trim Border punch, Whisper White organza ribbon, Silver Brads, Silver mini brads, Beveled Window Panes, 1/8″ Basic Black taffeta ribbon.

14 thoughts on “Tappin’ the Keys

  1. Very creative, Carrie! I love the symbolism behind the keys! The windowpane is the perfect touch! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players this week!

  2. Ebony and ivory – this is a beauty!

  3. Carrie – this is dynamite! I love this, all the detail is incredible!

  4. You are the master of using elements! This is no exception. It’s so gorgeous. I love how you tied everything in. Thanks for playing with The Paper Players this week!

  5. Gorgeous!!!! Wow. Love the tag and love the colors. Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches and for playing with The Paper Players this week!

  6. Fabulous …love the tag and those keys are “wow” …
    Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

  7. Cool card Carrie! Love the keys. You new challenge looks awesome, I need to come over and play soon!!! Thank you for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches.

  8. Very sharp card…C sharp, I think! LOL! I love this and it is a great take on both challenges! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players and my musical theme this week!

  9. Love this card, Carrie! Your work is beautiful! I must CASE you, darling! 🙂

  10. Carrie you are so stinkin’ clever! Love the key inspiration and you have carried it through to each element for one fabulous card! Thank you for joining us at The Paper Players this week!

  11. Oh Carrie, I love this card. It’s so clean and elegant – and I love how you attached the keys. Gorgeous work!

  12. Carrie, I literally just returned from piano lessons and just loved your creativity with “keys” . The monochromatic design with all the details of the brads, the window panes and the ribbon is just fantastic. Orchestrated beautifully:) Thank you for playing along with The Paper Players!

  13. So clever … and such elegant colours! Hugs xxaxx

  14. Carrie, love how you incorporated the piano into the challenge. So clever…the keys are perfect. Love your color choices too. Thanks so much for playing along with the Paper Players this week!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

