Artistic Avenger

Spare Time Fun!

16 Comments

Yes, you are reading the title correctly – I had some spare time! This almost never happens! I decided to put aside a few things I “had” to do to play along with two great challenges: Pals Paper Arts and Mary Jo’s Lunchtime Sketch Challenge.

At first I was a bit stumped and almost decided to throw in the towel but I’ve been so focused on specific projects of late that I needed to do something “just because”.

I used a base of Riding Hood Red and then layered it with Confetti White and then Calypso Coral. The central panel is Basic Gray designer series paper. It was very hard for me not to do a ton of sponging or distressing but I don’t think that is what this card needs.

For the focal layer I stamped a bunch of the cages from Aviary on Confetti White and then a couple on some scraps which I cut out, stamped on some birds and adhered with dimensionals. I tied on a little Calypso Coral ruffled ribbon and a sentiment. This is half of a sentiment from On Your Birthday (those are the words I omitted).

A fun little card that I think may just go in the mail today!

Thanks for visiting and Happy Labour Day Weekend!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Calypso Coral, Confetti White, Riding Hood Red.

Ink: Basic Gray, Calypso Coral, Riding Hood Red.

Stamps: Aviary, On Your Birthday.

Accessories: Neutrals Designer Paper Pack, Basic Rhinestones, Calypso Coral ruffled ribbon, Scallop Edge Punch.

16 thoughts on “Spare Time Fun!

  1. Glad you got to just play 🙂 Darling card.

  2. Love this card!! I just love that stamp set, I really need to try to use it more.

    Hugs
    Shirley

  3. I just love that set and I don’t use it near enough. In fact, I have way too many stamps I never use. I should take up belly dancing instead.

    Love your card, aldy.

    xo B.

  4. Love it! So glad you got some quality play time today…love the collage of birdcages in the background and the popped up ones are adorable! Great use of the colors too! Happy long weekend, yay!

  5. Very cute card. Love how the bird cages pop out. Thank you for playing along with Pals Paper Arts.

  6. What a fun card – I regret having not gotten these bird cages. I love all your layers and arrangement of the cages – and how you used a little snippet of DSP to hang your cages by – very clever!

  7. Spare time?? Love these bird cages – as your background and popped out!

  8. Your card design is terrific. You’re so talented. xo, Marian

  9. Wow! This is the best card I’ve seen with this stamp set. Great job, as usual, Carrie!!

  10. Wow, congrats on the spare time! Job well done – as usual.

  11. This is sensational, Carrie! A scary colour combo … that you have worked magic with! And … I don’t think it needs any extra sponging, either! Hugs xxaxx

  12. So cute! I love that set too.

  13. WOW….this is the best showing of this card, so far….everything is so perfect!

  14. Well isn’t this fun. Love all the birdcages. You are one of my picks for last week’s top three. Thanks so much for playing along with my sketch challenge last week. Sorry it took me so long to comment.

  15. Carrie – I’ve awarded you the Versatile Blogger award! Go to thepaperstamper.blogspot.com to pick up your award 🙂

  16. Pingback: September Promotion! :: Confessions of a Stamping Addict

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

