Artistic Avenger

Seasons Greetings in Suede

13 Comments

I made the above card for a recent swap with a great group of Canadian Demonstrators. I am proud to be a part of this amazing group of swappin’ women!

For this swap, I was to use the Holiday Mini Hostess set, Warmest of Wishes. I had so many ideas but I wanted to do something a little bit different.

I started with a Soft Suede card base and stamped it with the wreath from this stamp set (I stamped off the ink first so it is a very light impression).

Next, I used the large NOEL stamp and stamped it in full strength on Soft Suede cardstock and layered it with Early Espresso and adhered it to the left. On that I added some Soft Suede taffeta ribbon.

The central panel is my favourite part of this card. I love using a non-traditional holiday stamp for a holiday project.

I first stamped the Ornate Blossom in Soft Suede on some Confetti White cardstock. I then sponged the edges. Next I punched out an Ornament with the Ornament punch in Early Espresso. The ornament from Tags Til Christmas was next stamped in Early Espresso ink on some soft Suede cardstock. I punched it out with my Ornament punch and then trimmed around the outside a bit so you could see the Early Espresso ornament below.

The banner is cut using the Petal Cone Big Shot Die and is sponged and stamped with a sentiment from Four the Holidays.

Lastly, I took a piece of Linen Thread and tied a bow on a Mini Jingle Bell. I adhered with Tombow Multi Adhesive.

I know these are not your typical holiday colours but this card is full of rich details and colours and I think I may interpret this somehow for my holiday classes!

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Soft Suede, Early Espresso, Confetti White.

Ink: Soft Suede, Early Espresso.

Stamps: Warmest of Wishes, Four the Holidays, Ornate Blossom.

Accessories: Soft Suede Taffeta Ribbon, Mini Jingle Bells, Linen Thread, Ornament Punch, Big Shot, Petal Cone Die, Stampin’ Sponges.

13 thoughts on “Seasons Greetings in Suede

  1. I love that you used the Ornate Blossom stamp on this card, it looks like it was made for the ornament! That was one stamp I didn’t “get”, but now I think I need 🙂 TFS!

  2. LOVE this!! PS – Did you notice I CASEd the layout for my swap from your blog?? 🙂

  3. I do love the look of this card, even though they aren’t traditional colors; I enjoy your complete blog; have a great week.

  4. Great card Carrie! I love the richness of it!

  5. Your card is gorgeous!!!! Love the idea of the ornament layered on the Ornate Blossom. TFS

  6. I’ve been staring at that Ornate Blossom wondering what to do with it, what a great idea!! You are soooooo good!

  7. Great non-traditional card. Perfect! I so love the Soft Suede, it adds a richness to the card.

  8. This is wonderful – I love all the brown and the way you’ve “folded” the little banner. Cute little bell too!!!!

  9. Wow! Out of the box for sure. Love the combo of the ornament and the ornate blossom. And I would never have thought those colors would work for Christmas, but they do! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Wowza, Carrie! I have had this tamp forever and have never been inspired to show it some ink…until today! Who would have ever thought to use it with the ornament punch? YOU would, that’s who! So elegant and beautiful! Hugs! 🙂

  11. WE are SO happy to have you in our swap group – I am always so excited to see what you come up with each time – and so proud to have Artistic Avenger Originals in my collection!

  12. I was only just saying the other day … that I was missing my Soft Suede! I haven’t used it in ages … and it is one of my all time fav colours. So … your beautiful inspiration has made me determined to dig it out and create something! Hugs xxaxx

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

