Artistic Avenger

Sit on Down and Stay Awhile (PP61)

13 Comments

Today brings my last card as Guest Designer on The Paper Players. Lesley and Team have been such fun to work with this month. They are a bright, talented and extremely organized group that, I dare to say, rivals any DT out there. I was honoured to serve with them for August and hope there is another opportunity to play along with them soon.

This week, Jaydee brings a great sketch to the table. I had the pleasure of meeting Jaydee in person at Convention this year – she is such a dear soul! Here is what I came up with:

I am IN LOVE with this Have a Seat stamp set. I remember when it came out last year, I knew I liked it but not as much as I do now that I have it!

I wanted to play around with masculine colours so I used Chocolate Chip, Not Quite Navy, Garden Green and Baja Breeze. I really like how the colours work together on this one.

The Garden Green layer has Woodgrain stamped in Early Espresso and is roughed up and sponged. Actually all the layers are roughed up a bit (obviously I was feeling aggressive that day!). The centre square is Baja Breeze which is stamped with the Medallion in Baja Breeze ink and is layered on Chocolate Chip.

The centre circle is from the 2 1/2″ circle punch and I’ve sponged it with Chocolate chip. I stamped the large bench image in Early Espresso and cut it out and again sponged the edges. Two little flowers from the Bitty Punch Pack were added with a little basic pearl. I used the sentiment from On the Grow (I love the font). To finish is all off, I added a loop of Chocolate Chip Polka Dot Scallop Ribbon and a couple of Jumbo Chocolate Chip brads.

This card totally embodies my style and I love it. So, loving this layout so much, I had to make another one for my holiday classes, didn’t I?

This card is pretty much the same as the first with a few minor modifications. The base was changed to Sahara Sand and I textured the Not Quite Navy layer versus stamping it as above. I stamped and punched out the bench versus cutting it out and added a wreath to it using my Boho Blossoms punch and Owl punch (for the berries) and down the centre is some Real Red satin ribbon.

I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s designs and I encourage you to play along at The Paper Players! Check out what the rest of the design team did with this great sketch from Jaydee:

The Paper Players Design Team
Carrie Gaskin (GD) – that’s ME!

Products used on today’s challenge project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Chocolate Chip, Garden Green, Not Quite Navy, Whisper White, Baja Breeze.

Ink: Early Espresso, Chocolate Chip, Baja Breeze.

Stamps: Have a Seat, On the Grow, Medallion, Woodgrain.

Accessories: Chocolate Chip Polka Dot Scallop Ribbon, 2 1/2″ circle punch, Bitty Punch Pack, Basic Pearls, Jumbo Brads, Stampin’ Sponges.

13 thoughts on “Sit on Down and Stay Awhile (PP61)

  1. Carrie, love this! and love the wreath on it for a holiday card!! I agree with you….I had the best time this summer on the PP team!! Thanks for all your inspiration!

  2. Oh, I love this set too….need to use it more! I love the dimension on the first one….great depth & shading!

  3. I love your card this week Carrie! The masculine colours are wonderful!!! Thank you for all of your hard work, you have been a wonderful GD and I hope we get to meet soon.
    Lesley

  4. I LOVE the distressing, Carrie! A great choice for masculine colors. The wreath is so adorable and creative on your holiday version! I will miss designing alongside you. You are an inspiration!

  5. I love the distressing and masculine colour scheme on the first card, Carrie! And the wreath is so cute on the second one! It’s been great working with you this month.

  6. Oh Carrie, both cards are fabulous and I love seeing how you modify it for a workshop setting. Love the colors on the first, the little bit of polka dot ribbon and the sweet flower are all fabulous details! Love the wreath on the second and the colors are equally great! I’ve enjoyed stamping alongside you this month–you’ve been an awesome team player!!

  7. I love this card.!! I love the color combo and the wood grain in the background. I love this sketch too!!

    Hugs
    Shirley

  8. Two stunning cards, Carrie! I love the shabbiness of the first one best! I love the way you used the woodgrain BG- so clever!

  9. Great cards. I love this set. I may have to CASE your cards.
    TFS
    Ang

  10. Both of your cards are gorgeous – I love how the bench pops off the page. I agree about the necessity of using this sketch for holiday classes – I’ll be doing the same thing! And hey – it was neat seeing you in the September Stampin’ Success Magazine! Way to go!!!

  11. I love your unexpectedly delightful holiday cards! The wreath on the bench is wonderful!

  12. Carrie, these are both awesome! I JUST placed an order and am now kicking myself for not getting this set. I just love how you added the accents to dress up the bench for any occasion. That wreath makes me giddy with excitement. You are the queen of versatility, I tell ya! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

