Artistic Avenger

Birdie Trio – Inkspirations #84

20 Comments

Challenge Day at Inkspirations! Yep, it’s time to play along with Keesh and the gals again. But this time it’s a challenging colour challenge:

I totally didn’t know where I was going to start with this one. Which colour do I make the focal colour? They are all so bright!

Well, I decided to make my base Concord Crush. I took all the cages from Aviary on my largest clear acrylic block and made my own background stamp. I love how simple this idea is and it’s a great wow at a workshop.

I drew on the latest sketch at The Paper Players as my design inspiration. I love that sketch and there is still time to play along!

Across the centre is a piece of Daffodil Delight and then that is layered with Whisper White. Okay, now for those birds….

The first bird I made like this was actually an error. Yep, that is how things happen sometimes. You are punching away and a little shape ends up on your desk that looks a bit like a partridge. Happens all the time.

It’s obvious to see that I used the Owl punch but here is how the punching actually happens. Sorry, no great tutorial on how to do it but I layered one of these birds over the actual owl so you can see:

The Daffodil Delight owl is the actual Owl from the punch. You then feed it in the punch again so you get only the little bird. I then added a second foot to the back of the little bird so he wouldn’t fall down.

I finished it all off with a tie of Concord Crush ribbon tied with a Pumpkin Pie button and some Baker’s Twine. The tag sentiment is from Delightful Dozen. Oh, and that Tangerine Tango scallop on the bottom? That is the “shirt” shape from the owl punch. Perfect scallop border!

Thanks for visiting today and I hope you’ll join us at Inkspirations for a great challenge week.

Check out with the rest of my design team homies have come up with:

Cindy
Kirsty
Makeesha
Renée
Brandi
Carrie
Helen
Ilina
Lee-Anne
Marisa

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Tangerine Tango, Daffodil Delight, Concord Crush, Whisper White.

Ink: Concord Crush, Tangerine Tango.

Stamps: Delightful Dozen, Aviary.

Accessories: 2-step Owl Punch, Concord Crush Ribbon, Bold Buttons, Baker’s Twine.

20 thoughts on “Birdie Trio – Inkspirations #84

  1. I love it when someone teaches me a new way to use my punches! Your accident will be useful, I’m sure.
    Your card, as always, is superb!

  2. Carrie,when I grow up, I want to b a REAL artist like u!! : }
    I’ve never left a comment b4 but this little bird card took me right to the keyboard! I think I love this creation even more than the Three Wise Men that appeared from those leaf scraps awhile back. You are one CrAzY talented chick!! TFS!!

  3. OMGoodness, this is just too clever. I WANT to make some too!

  4. Wow, I LOVE how you used the owl punch – so creative!

  5. eek! I saw this in my reader this morning and SO cute!!! A very happy accident for sure!!!

  6. Your little birds are too cute, Carrie!! Love when an “oops” produces a great idea! Fabulous take on this week’s challenge!

  7. So cute and clever…. that partridge family!!!

  8. Hello!

    An error turned into something wonderful and new! Very creative – you have a good eye! I love your card and the colors are so beautiful!

    Wishing you a great weekend!

    Hugs,

    Barbara Diane

  9. How clever and cute! Fabulous job, Carrie!

  10. OK. Very smart!!!! Waaaaay smart. I love it. I would never have come up with this idea. You really are amazing. Now… I also love that you choose the Concord Crush as your background color – it really helps ground the rest of the card and tone down the bright colors.
    Fabulous card, Carrie!
    hugs
    jaydee

  11. This is too clever for words! Love what you did with that punch, thanks for sharing that happy accident with us!

  12. brilliant! i am so happyy your mishap turned into a work of art!

  13. Carrie!! How cool is this! I love that you found a new breed of bird hiding in the owl punch! 😉 You are a creative rockstar! Thanks for the awesome inspiration! 🙂

  14. Carrie, OMG what a fabulous Partridge Family card!! Way to rock the owl punch my friend and I love the background stamping with Aviary!! Thanks for sharing your immense talent with us!

  15. So cute… what a creative eye you have! Anita

  16. You have waaaaaay too many creative genes in your DNA………this is amazingly clever!

  17. Such a sweet card. Love those birdies… so clever with the punch! :o)

  18. Well look at *you*, Miss Smarty Pants!! This is so awesome! I really like the bird cages as a background, too. I wish I was as smart as you. I’ll just have to settle for my blinding beauty and irresistable charm. Sigh.

    xo B.

  19. Don’t you just love those “ah” moments? Lovin’ your cute little birdies Carrie – so very clever!! They look so sweet lined up in a row & the button/ribbon/tag combo is great too. 🙂

  20. Oh Carrie, your birdies are adorable! LOVE them lined up like that! Fabulous creation, you would never know the colours challenged you! Keesh x

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

