Artistic Avenger

Lean on Me (PP59)

17 Comments

So, it’s another day and another new challenge from The Paper Players! My first challenge as Guest Designer for August was so much fun to be a part of and I’m excited to be introducing this challenge to you this week. And, boy oh boy, did Anne Marie ever challenge us – WITH PINK! I’m not a pink user that often but I found I really enjoyed this challenge.

I wanted to use Regal Rose and the “majority” colour and Rose Red as just a bit of a hint so that is what I did. The base is Regal Rose and I ran it through the Tulip Border embossing folder and sponged. I then added a layer to fit into the outline (again Regal Rose) and sponged it. I added an “X” of Baker’s Twine and then sponged over it with my Regal Rose sponge so they just don’t stand out so much!

Next, I added an awkwardly laying layer of Rose Red on which I layered some more Regal Rose. On this I stamped the large flourish from Best Friends Forever and sponged. Next, I added a stamped image from Lean On Me (LOVE this set!) and watercoloured it lightly. I didn’t want to go too crazy and deep with the colours on this one, I thought it’d take away from the overall effect.

To finish it all off, I had to add some ribbon and embellishments! I didn’t have any pink ribbon (GASP) so I took my Whisper White Organza and dyed it to match! Here’s how:

  1. Take a piece of ribbon.
  2. Put one part boiling water and one part vinegar in a heat proof dish. (I think I used about 2 tbsp of each)
  3. Add as much reinker as you wish for depth of colour. (I think I added 5 drops)
  4. Stir and until the desired colour is achieved.
  5. Take out the ribbon and let it dry. (I just patted it between two paper towels and I was good to go!)

REMEMBER – you can always add more die but you can’t take it away so be cautious with how much reinker you add.

Lastly, I added a little tag that says “friends” from Tiny Tags and a Rose Red button tied with some Baker’s Twine.

I do hope you’ll get a chance to get “p-inky” this week and play along with The Paper Players! Check out the rest of the design team members creations:

The Paper Players Design Team

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Regal Rose, Pretty In Pink, Rose Red, Confetti White.

Ink: Regal Rose, Rose Red, Jet Black StazOn and various colours to watercolour.

Stamps: Best Friends Forever, Lean On Me, Tiny Tags.

Accessories: Big Shot, Tulip Border Embossing Folder, Baker’s Twine, Aquapainter, Subtles Buttons, Medium Jewelry Tag punch, Bitty Punch Pack, Stampin’ Sponges, Boho Blossoms Punch, Regal Rose Reinker, Organza Ribbon.

17 thoughts on “Lean on Me (PP59)

  1. Good morning Ms. Avenger….you have struck again and this time in pink! I really like how you used the flourish behind the image of the “friends”. The friends set is cute, one I hadn’t considered! Might have to now!
    Have a great Sunday!
    Lesley

  2. This is so gentle and sweet. Love the watercolouring – and that ribbon!!!!!

  3. Carrie…. I know you aren’t a pinky – but you did amazingly well with this card. All the little unexpected “avenger” touches to which we have become accustomed: the flower under the button; the cross stitches in the corner; the little friends tag! Fabulous card – you really made pink look cool!
    Jaydee

  4. Carrie, one would never know you were not into pink! I always enjoy seeing your creativity! the offset layers are great!

  5. Wow! Soooo pretty … and lotsa pink!!! Cute card … I wonder if I can find some time today to play??? Hugs xxaxx

  6. Extra, Extra! The Artistic Avenger has done it again! 🙂 Carrie, I LOVE this card! It brought a big smilel to my face instantly. Awesome details and that offset layer is such a great touch. Thanks for the fantastic tip on the ribbon, too. Can’t wait to try that out. You got your pink on, indeed! Hugs!

    PS: I wanted to tell you that I loved your creation in Stampin’ Connection this month, too. Adorable!

  7. Love this! Good tip about adding the vinegar to the dye to set it; I always worried about it running if it got wet!
    Your watercoloring is so sweet, too~

  8. Love it! Like how the leaning panel is a play on the sentiment. All the avenging touches are fantastic–the stitching, the tage with flower and the gentle watercoloring all make for a fabulously pink friend card!

  9. Good Morning Carrie,
    Love your card. I don’t think you’ve made a card I didn’t like. I love that you used three shades of pink. It would look good with three shades of many colors too but I do love pink.

  10. You dye your own ribbon?? You are a pioneer woman! I bet you could make your own soap too! Sweet sweet card~!

  11. This is so pretty! I love the image. Thanks for the tip.

  12. Love how you put the pinks together. Lots of details. Also, you can also color your ribbon with a SU marker and then blend it with a wipe, then let it dry. Thanks for you tip on using the vinegar.

  13. Love this! Terrific watercoloring and great sketch. Also, big congrats on your Art WOW selection in this month’s Stampin’ Success! I am an avid Artistic Avenger follower and I was so proud to see your creation. Blessings, Diane

  14. Love all the layers of pink! So much fun! What a great stamp set also. The light water coloring is perfect.

  15. Just got my Stamping Success magazine and congratulations on being an art contest winner. I remember that card from the blog and thought it was a great idea. Always nice to get some confirmation for our ideas. Congratulations again!

  16. Cu-T-Pie! 🙂 Love it girl!

  17. So cute – and thanks so much about the tip for dyeing ribbon with your re-inkers!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

