Artistic Avenger

Watering the Flowers – Inkspirations #82

13 Comments

Time for a new Inkspirations Challenge and this time it’s a colour one! I love colour challenges so much and this one was a great one, a little outside my “norm” but I’m thrilled with the results. Here is the challenge:

For my card, I decided on Crumb Cake for the base. I cut a Top Note and ran it through the Stripes Big Shot embossing folder. I did cut the Top Note in half so, yes, it does look a little larger than it is usually.

Across the centre and on an angle, I added a strip of Cajun Craze layered with Watercolour Paper. On the Watercolour paper, I stamped outline flowers from Awash with Flowers using Jet Black stazOn. I then spritzed the paper with water and stamped the sold images in coordinating challenge colours. I then stamped the sentiment from Faith in Nature and added some linen thread around the outside edges. Oh, I also used my Air Spritzer tool and my Early Espresso marker on this layer.

To finish it all off, I added a bow of Crumb Cake seam binding and a Marina Mist button.

Do head on over to the Inkspirations Challenge blog to play along this week. For some extra inspiration, take a peek at what the Design Team has come up with:

Cindy
Kirsty
Makeesha
Renée
Brandi
Carrie
Helen
Ilina
Lee-Anne
Marisa

Products used on today’s project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze, Marina Mist, Watercolour Paper.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Cajun Craze, Marina Mist, Crumb Cake.

Stamps: Awash with Flowers, Faith in Nature (hostess).

Accessories: Big Shot, Top Note Die, Stripes embossing folder, Linen Thread, Air Spritzer tool, Stampin’ Sponges.

13 thoughts on “Watering the Flowers – Inkspirations #82

  1. The bold colours of the watercoloured flowers are to-die-for, Carrie!! This is such a beautiful card. Can’t wait ’til we get that embossing folder in Australia!

  2. Awesome! I’ve never stamped with an image like Awash with Flowers that needs “filling” in as this stamp set does. Sooo, you can mist your paper After you stazon?? Cool! Love this look, your color pallet and embellishments look terrific!

  3. Beautiful Card! Love that you put the focal layer at an angle!

  4. I LOVE the Top Note with the striped folder – fabulous!!

  5. Love that flower set and you have done a great job using it in a watercolour way 🙂 Gorgeous use of this week’s colours and a fabulous card as always.

  6. Totally GORGEOUS!!! Every detail is perfect Carrie! 🙂

  7. Carrie, love the striped top note. Really cool touch. It adds so much fabulous texture to the background, without overpowering it. Great use of the colors
    Jaydee

  8. Hi Carrie! What an amazing card! I love the way you have balanced the colour combo. (Something I am a little amateurish with!) I am liking that Stripes embossing folder! Oooh … onto my wish list that goes! Hugs xxaxx

  9. Gorgeous way to color those flowers–awash with creativity! 🙂

  10. this is beautiful, Carrie! love the layout, the watercoloured flowers, and that embossing folder!

  11. Gorgeous! I kept thinking those colours were perfect for a masculine project, but I like how you paired them with a flower set. Love that striped background.

    Congrats on your Wow contest win! Just saw that in the SS magazine… 😀

    Cindy

  12. WOW Carrie this is just beautiful…. the flowers look amazing in these colours! Such a wonderful job! Keesh x

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

