Artistic Avenger

Holiday Greetings

19 Comments

It’s time for a Create with Connie and Mary challenge! I know I’m not “technically” on the DT right now but they are so kind to let me pretend I am! This week there is a great sketch to play with:

I’m starting to play around with holiday ideas right now for my Fall/Winter classes so you’ll see lots of holiday cards over the next few weeks for my design team challenges.

This card is pretty self explanatory. The base is Always Artichoke and I added a strip of First Edition designer paper to the top which is layered with some Always Artichoke and tied with some Cherry Cobbler seam binding.

The tag is cut from the Two Big Tags Bigz Die and is Crumb Cake. I stamped the large snowman from Snow Much Fun in Jet Black StazOn on the tag and again on some scrap Crumb Cake. I cut out the one which was stamped on the scrap, sponged and coloured it and then adhered to the tag with dimensionals.

To finish off the tag, I added a strip of First Edition below the snowman and then added a bunch of snowballs up top. I cut a circle of Deck the Halls designer fabric using my Circles #2 Big Shot die. I then used some linen thread and a needle and hand stitched an “X” and pulled it tight to ruffle the circle a bit. I then added a Cherry Cobbler button to the centre and a sentiment from Tags Til Christmas.

I wanted to play around with this sketch a little more and make a clean and simple take on this for a holiday Stamp-A-Stack class.

This is a much simpler design on the same sketch but it is much more easy to replicate on a multiple-card-making basis.

A fun little trick I learned while making this card. If you use the tag from Two Big Tags and want to layer the area where the punched hole is, here is what you do:

Punch out a Rounded Tab Punch and cut in half. Then, slide the smaller end into the slot on the tag to look like this:

Then all you need to do is punch the hole!

Thanks for visiting today and head on over to Create with Connie and Mary to play along with this week’s sketch challenge!

Products used on today’s challenge project:

Cardstock: Always Artichoke, Crumb Cake, Naturals Ivory.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Crumb Cake, Always Artichoke.

Stamps: Tags Til Christmas, Snow Much Fun.

Accessories: Big Shot, Two Big Tags Bigz Die, Stampin’ Sponges, Cherry Cobbler Seam Binding, First Edition designer paper, Deck the Halls fabric, Regals Buttons, Linen Thread.

19 thoughts on “Holiday Greetings

  1. Love the “rustic” look of this card! Thanks for the tip too!

  2. Adorable card, who doesn’t love a snowman and yours is so cute, love all your details and especially the tip!

  3. Again Carrie,
    I love your card, it is so cute. All your cards seem to be so good.

    Diana from Wisconsin

  4. Both cards are just wonderful! I love the use of the fabric! And the tip for layering the tag is so helpful!!

  5. Carrie…what do you mean? We’re never letting you off the Create with Connie and Mary DT! lol! Really…your snowman card is SO darling! I absolutely love all the details of the circle and popped up snowman. I also love the simplified version and the great Round Tab punch trick! Great job!

  6. Stunning snowman card! Thank you for sharing!

  7. I am loving what you’re doing with the Snow Much Fun set! Although, I’m pretty in love with all of you work πŸ˜‰ These cards are Fantastic – tfs!

  8. Darling as always! Love what you did with the Round Tab punch and the tag! Very clever! Both cards are GREAT!

  9. That first card is adorable—what a cute idea to have him juggling the snowballs! I like the second one too—I need ideas for an upcoming class and this may be just the ticket!

  10. As usual… amazing!

    When you said “play around with your punches”… you meant it!

    Anita

  11. Fabulous cards! Thanks for sharing that little tip with the punch and the tag…I will DEFINITELY be using this on some cards in the future!

  12. GREAT cards Carrie–love the rustic look of the Crumb Cake and what a fabulous tip for the two tags! TFS!

  13. Sorry…

    These are way too cute. What fun designs you’ve come up with!

  14. I visit your blog every day, and you never fail to inspire and amaze, Carrie. I adore the two versions of the sketch, and I absolutely love your tip. Gotta get the two tags die, now!

  15. Love both of your cards and thanks for the tip on the tag! I’m sure your girls will love the Stamp Camp cards!

  16. Ok… you are the QUEEN of this set. You have made the most amazing cards… those snowballs… they made me laugh. He looks so flipping pleased with himself! Then you added that awesome fabric flower. You really make us look at sketches differently and I appreciate that!
    Jaydee

  17. What a genius tip, sliding the tag in the top of the tag like that!!! I am so glad I finally caved and got this die… Should be receiving it this week.

    Thanks for sharing! πŸ˜€

  18. Such a great card!! thanks for explaining how to do the flower and the tag looks neat too! I had to CASE it! πŸ™‚

    Here’s my take: http://allamericanstampers.blogspot.com/2011/08/more-fabric.html

  19. You are so creative! I want to make them all. I love tags so you blew me away with these cards. Another stamp set to add to wish list.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

