Artistic Avenger

Pretty as a Pennant?

19 Comments

So it is the day after my New Catalogue Open House. It went well! I had a great turnout with some wonderful ladies in attendance. I did many fun demonstrations of new products, sold retired stamp sets and was so pleased to lead the group through a couple of super cute make and take projects.

But that was last night – today is the latest Create with Connie and Mary challenge and this time, it’s a colour challenge!

Now even though I’m not “officially” on the design team this summer, I’m still playing along! I love this combination of colours. And, today’s card is one that I made as a demo card for my Open House last night highlighting various uses of the Pennant Punch.

First, I used folded over pieces of cardstock and put them in my Pennant Punch to make a harlequin background. I’ve also embossed them in an embossing folder.

This lily-type flower is made also using the Pennant Punch. The white petals are pennants with the long side up and the inside Daffodil Delight pieces are with the point side up.

I just finished it off with a rolled piece of Old Olive for the stem and a bow of Basic Black satin ribbon. I wasn’t sure which occasion I’d use this for so I kept it free of sentiment for now.

So head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along with this great challenge!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Basic Black, Whisper White, Old Olive, Daffodil Delight.

Ink: none.

Stamps: none.

Accessories: Big Shot, Pennant Punch, Basic Black satin ribbon.

19 thoughts on “Pretty as a Pennant?

  1. WOW! That is a beauty…. may I ask, how did you fasten all those pennants together to make the flower? And, I love the idea of folding the cs. to make the pennants into diamonds…. classy! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Very nice! Love this alot. Great Job! Keep up the good work!
    The lily element is beautiful. Thanks alot.
    Cheryl McAskill
    c.mcaskill@verizon.net

  3. The b/w background is so striking – very dramatic!

  4. That is a wicked cool background, lady! Great idea. TFS!

  5. Fabulous colour combo and I love the card! The diamond BG shapes are fabulous.

  6. Beautiful card. Just something so different with the black diamonds.
    Patricia

  7. How beautiful and lovely lovely colors—Love it!! Hope I can make some one half as beautiful someday.

  8. What a knockout! You are so innovative. The ‘pennant people’ are going to love you for this display and, of course, a tutorial is in order! TFS your unlimited talents.

  9. OMG! That is just OUTSTANDING

  10. This is a real show-stopper!! WOW! Love it! And thanks for the “how-to” on making the diamonds!

  11. Very clever! I thought you hand-cut all those harlequin’s! Beautiful card!

  12. What a stunning use of the pennant punch…leave it to you to figure that out–genius! Love the B&W background and the lily is a.maz.ing!

  13. gorgeous! this will be on my punch inspiration blog post tomorrow. TFS

  14. Absolutely Beautiful!!! I love, love, LOVE that flower! You have certainly made a great card! Might just have to try that myself! Found this post thru Kim Score’s blog and so glad I did! TFS Hugs!!

  15. Absolutely delightful, Carrie! Love having another excuse to own that pennant die!

  16. You are just SO clever, Carrie!!! I love the Harlequin look! Giving me some ideas…lol! Great job with the color challenge!

  17. that is totally amazing!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

