Artistic Avenger

Tooth Fairy Box: Non-Winning Artisan Award Entry #3

17 Comments

Today I’m sharing the first of my two 3D projects that I submitted for the 2011 Artisan Award contest. This one was a bit hard to photo as there are so many elements. First, I made it with the backing pieces that come in designer paper packages to give it strength. I then covered them with Whisper White cardstock. On the very top, I covered it with Crystal Effects. I made sure to have small bumps and pits, as this is what regular teeth have. I then added Dazzling Diamonds all around the outside.

I added some Candy Cane fabric as a tie to open and close the box and then I used the little Tooth Fairy stamp in the centre.

I stamped the image and punched it out with the 1 3/4″ circle punch. I watercoloured the image and then stamped it again on some fabric and paper pierced. Of course, I added a little more glitter.

I needed to make the inside special too…..

I lined one side with fabric and in that I laid a hand sewn little satchel to hold the tooth. On the other side, I used My Digital Studio to make a little poem.

The 3D projects are the hardest to adequately photo (for me anyways) but in real life this is pretty darn cool.

Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “Tooth Fairy Box: Non-Winning Artisan Award Entry #3

  1. I think this is one of the cutest things I have ever seen! Your a winner in my eyes!

  2. WOW! This is so cute! You are so very talented and creative!

  3. I agree – this is definitely one of the cutest things I have ever seen – ranks right up there with Johnny Depp! Amazing details! L-O-V-E-I-T!

  4. Carrie,
    What a great idea!!! Have you considered making a tutorial and template for it? It would be fab. Love it!

  5. i love this!!! I am going to have to make 3 for my grandbabies!!!

  6. “Pretty darn cool!” sums it up very nicely. What a wonderful keepsake and very inventive and….I could go on, but it’s not what ‘they’ wanted apparently. That does not take away from how terrific this project is.

  7. Such an amazing project and gift for a little one. I must say, I’m always amazed at the ‘winning projects’ as they usually don’t capture me as much as the non-winning. Congratulations on a FANTASTIC project. An absolute WINNER for me.

  8. This is so cute!!! I have a almost 6 1/2 year old that has a loose tooth and needs a little case just like this… You did a great job Carrie!! You are a winner in my eye!! and pretty much everyone that sees your stuff!!

  9. I think the powers-that-be at SU should have their heads examined! This is over-the-top cute, clever & creative!

  10. If this is a NON-winning entry….!!! Amazing. A winner for all of us for sure! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  11. Love your project. Did you design the tooth shape or is it a template you downloaded somewhere? I’m looking for a tooth template for some scrapbooking pages but can’t find any. Are you willing to share the template?

    alwaysgottime@yahoo.ca

    Thanks.

    Karen

  12. This is probably the most unique project I have ever seen!! Very creative! Still can’t firgure out why you didn’t win!

  13. Are you serious? SU! passed on this awesome project. The attention to detail is amazing. It’s their loss. You’re a winner to us. XXOO

  14. Well, if this one did not win, I’d love to see the ones that did. This is precious – and such a smart idea girl. You should have won!

  15. Just sooo cute. So original – totally brilliant!!

  16. Pingback: Tooth Fairy 101: DIY Tooth Fairy Pillows, Boxes, and Printables - Mom Always Finds Out

  17. Pingback: Tooth Fairy Ideas: DIY Crafts Printables, Pillows, Boxes and More!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

