Artistic Avenger

My Sunset Butterfly

13 Comments

Sunset butterfly? Really? What kind of title is that? It’s the kind you come up with when you have no idea what to title something and you’re thinking these colours look like a sunset and you’ve used a butterfly. That’s the kind.

This is my newest card for Create with Connie and Mary. Now, this week’s challenge has a twist, it is going to last for 2 WEEKS! Yes, many of us are travelling to Convention next week so this challenge is extended so many of you are able to play along. Here are the challenges – a colour AND a sketch:

For my card, I decided to keep it portrait however, with this sketch you could certainly make a circular card too!

The base is Pumpkin Pie and I’ve layered it with Basic Gray and then a So Saffron layer which I’d stamped with the swirl from Baroque Motifs (embossed with clear EP) and then sponged with Pumpkin Pie.

In the centre, I added the large flower from the Fun Flowers die in Basic Gray and added a scrunched up Newsprint flower in the centre (this was left over from a previous project).

I cut out a butterfly in So Saffron with the Beautiful Butterflies Sizzix die and then embossed a flower from Fifth Avenue Floral with silver embossing powder. I then sponged it with Pumpkin Pie and added a few little dots of white gel pen as accent. I used the 2 Step Bird Punch stem and leaf in basic black as the body and antenna of the butterfly.

Some little leaves in Basic Black were added behind along with a bow of Basic Black satin ribbon and a Basic Black button.

I do hope you’ll find some time over the next two weeks to play along at Create with Connie and Mary!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Basic Black, Pumpkin Pie, So Saffron, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Basic Black, Pumpkin Pie, Versamark.

Stamps: Fifth Avenue Floral, Pennants, Baroque Motifs.

Accessories: Big Shot, Beautiful Butterflies die, Little Leaves Sizzlet, 2 Step Bird Punch, Fun Flowers Die, Clear EP, Silver EP, Basic Black Satin ribbon, Neutrals buttons, Stampin’ Sponges.

13 thoughts on “My Sunset Butterfly

  1. This is gorgeous, Carrie! I love the rich sunset look on your background and the silver embossed butterfly! See you at Convention!

  2. Absolutely love everything about this card Carrie!

  3. And the Carrie Component is………….that silver embossed flower on the butterfly – wow! This is a stunner

  4. Carrie – AWESOME! These are colors that I normally am not drawn to, however, your use of color and values kept me really intrigued looking at your work. You’re a terrific artisan.

  5. Your card is gorgeous….love how you used the colors….you are very artistic in your paper craft!!! TFS

  6. Love, love, love the beautiful butterfly! Gorgeous card!

  7. very pretty!
    Sandra ltb

  8. Carrie, your card is absolutely beautiful! Your title matches the card very well; I don’t know what else you could have called it. TFS Carmen

  9. STUNNING!
    I love all your work and things like this keep me coming back!
    TFS!

  10. So beautiful! I just love the embossed flower on your butterfly!

  11. What a slacker I am….I thought I left a comment on this stunner of a card already but I didn’t! So sorry to be so late….this is truly gorgeous Carrie! Love the layers and sponging but the best part is your silver embossed butterfly! GOR-JUSS! Have a great time at convention!

  12. ABsolutely STUNNING! I am so glad I got to meet you at convention! You are such a lovely, funny, spunky girl!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

