Artistic Avenger

My Grandma: Non-Winning Artisan Award Project #2

26 Comments

Here is the first of my three scrapbook pages I entered into the Artisan Award contest. Unfortunately, I only took pictures of two of them so when I’m at Convention I’ll have to find it on the boards so I can take a photo!

This page is 8×8 square and the colours I used were Soft Suede, Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake and Melon Mambo.

I sewed the sponged Elegant Soiree designer paper to the Melon Mambo piece and then adhered to the Soft Suede page. I took some Crumb Cake seam binding and coated it with Champagne Mist shimmer paint, folded it over and sewed it to a ruffled piece of Springtime vintage fabric. I added a few little trinkets for good measure.

To bring the fabric in again, I tied a little bit on a Vintage Trinket pin and added three tags that say “days gone by”.

The “remember when” is from Word Play and is embossed on vellum and the Designer Label to the bottom right is stamped with Four Frames and printed using My Digital Studio.

You’ll also see that sneaking out is a Soft Suede Top Note. I embossed the design from in clear embossing powder and sponged.

I used the Hearts and Brackets die to cut out a wood bracket (which I sponged) and then added rosettes which were drenched in the Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint also. A stem of Always Artichoke leaves and a tie o Chantilly finish it off.

Last year I thought my scrapbooking was what held me back from winning so I really tried to step it up a notch this year. I loved this page and I guess ultimately, I sent in projects that I loved and was very proud of and that is what matters.

Thanks for stopping by and for all of your kind and generous comments.

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Soft Suede, Very Vanilla, Melon Mambo, Vellum.

Ink: Soft Suede.

Stamps: Word Play, Four Frames,

Accessories: Elegant Soiree DSP, Big Shot, Top Note, Hearts and Brackets, Rosettes, Crumb Cake Seam Binding, Champagne Mist shimmer paint, Vintage Trinkets, Chantilly, Little Leaves, Decorative label punch, medium jewelry tag punch, Springtime Vintage fabric.

26 thoughts on “My Grandma: Non-Winning Artisan Award Project #2

  1. Wow – what a gorgeous page! Can’t wait to see the boards in SLC…need bigger memory card for camera!

  2. Hard to believe that page was not a winner. I think it is fabulous! Ya just never know what the judges are looking for, I guess! Even though I am my own worst critic, there have been a few times I have entered challenges that I actually thought mine was better than the ones they chose. Not often, but once or twice!

    Anyway you can be proud of that page!

  3. That is a wonderful page – and so well thought out. TFS

  4. Wow, how fabulous! Love these and cannot wait to see the other pics you take.

  5. Carrie, that is just beautiful! I absolutely love it and think it should have been chosen hands-down. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  6. Great page — love everything about it. I agree with all the other comments you should have won. We all think you are a winner.

  7. OM!!! This layout is perfect in every way….from the vintage photo of your grandma to the style of the page and all of its well thought out elements.

  8. This is lovely – beautifully balanced! The photo is not overwhelmed but enhanced by your perfectly vintage embellishments. Love this!

  9. This a stunning and beautiful page… definitely worthy of the Artisan Award. Thanks for sharing it… I wish your grandmother could have seen it, too!

  10. LOVE IT! I look forward to every project that you post – you are SO talented and inspiring!!!! I really enjoyed meeting you last year at Convention and am sad that I won’t be there this year to reconnect with my ‘new’ friends…… maybe next year…..

  11. It’s a WINNER in my opinion!

  12. This is LOVELY!! I can really see the resemblance between you and your grandmother!! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  13. What a gorgeous page!

  14. I really don’t understand why you are not an artisan winner! This is elegant with balanced elements. All of your work is exceptional!!!

  15. This is just beautiful! What a lovely tribute to your grandmother.

  16. ALL of your creations are winners in my book – truly exceptional work!

  17. Beautiful and so very special. xo, Marian

  18. You know, I remember you telling me last year that you thought your scrapbooking was what was helding you back, but I can tell you that certainly wasn’t the case this year! This page is gorgeous and so nicely thought-out! There’s lot of great details and yet the page doesn’t feel crowded at all. Beautiful way to use the fabric, too!

    TFS!
    Cindy

  19. I truly cannot believe YOU did not win. You artwork is always truly amazing filled with so much thought and detail!

  20. What a beautiful vintage treatment for a lovely lady. This is the first time I’ve actually wanted to replicate someone’s use of fabric. You’re definitely a winner!

  21. Honestly Carrie, I don’t know how they don’t choose you every year! You’re so so so so so so talented and you inspire me all the time. Love this page and you look just like your grandma. Don’t be discouraged, just keep stampin’ on sister!

  22. i know you hear this again and again, but how do you NOT win???!!!! you are my favorite of all the blogs out there because i think your work is so good and diverse. you have a real artistic flair, which could be why they don’t pick you… who knows?? i entered last year but was too discouraged to do it again this year.
    again, you are MY favorite…so keep inspiring me.

  23. Seriously Carrie! I almost didn’t enter this year because I saw the AMAZING stuff you did last year and thought if THAT didn’t win, then nothing I can create could possibly even be considered! Your stuff is so amazing and you truly inspire me! Thanks for the sweet comments on my blog. 🙂 I love this page. Again, WHAT the WORLD are they looking for??? How is that not a winner?? Keep up the awesome work!

  24. What a gorgeous page! I love it!

  25. WOW WOW WOW!!! Love Love Love this layout!!! I don’t know what they are looking for but huge mistake for not picking you!! You are an amazing artist and lady!! Can’t wait to see you at Convention and get my very own Carrie creation!!!

    I will be featuring this layout on My Crafty Picks #24 with a link back to your blog on 7-10-11. If you wish to decline please email me at trbauer@insightbb.com

    Take care and see you soon!!
    Tiffany
    http://www.mycraftyworld.blogspot.com

  26. This is a winner in my book! I just love the simple elegance of the layout. The fabric is a gorgeous addiction. Thanks for the inspiration.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

