Artistic Avenger

Fancy Flower – Inkspirations #75

10 Comments

I thought I’d try to do a little something different today. Taking a quick look at this, I don’t think I’d identify this as my own creation – not my typical style I don’t think. However, when I do post cards that I think that is the case, I have many comments saying they’d pick it as mine right away. Who knows!

Today’s project is brought to you by the colours pink and black and the sketch is from Inkspirations. This has been a great design team to belong to. Such wonderful challenges and a great team to work with.

I tried to follow the sketch pretty truly but actually turned it on it’s side in the end.

The base is Blushing Bride and the layer colours are Basic Black and Very Vanilla. I think the card itself is pretty easy to understand. LOTS of distressing and sponging but let me give you a close up of the flower:

I used the Fun Flowers Sizzix Die and cut out flowers with Newsprint Designer paper and Blushing Bride Designer paper. I then crumpled them up in my hands and spritzed them with water and crumpled them some more. I used my heat tool to dry them (because I’m too impatient to wait for them to dry on their own) and affixed them all together with an Antique Brad.

I added some pearls to each corner and a sprig of black leaves (thanks Renee for showing me that is okay!) and of course ribbon – two kinds actually!

You’ll notice that I added no sentiment on this card. That is on purpose. I think this card could be good for any occasion so I’m not putting a sentiment on it until I need to use it!

Thanks so much for stopping by today and I encourage you to play along with us at Inkspirations this week! Check out what the rest of the design team has done with this sketch too!

Cindy
Kirsty
Makeesha
Renée
Brandi
Carrie
Helen
Ilina
Lee-Anne
Marisa

Products used on today’s project- CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Blushing Bride, Basic Black, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Basic Black.

Stamps: NONE!

Accessories: Big Shot, Fun Flowers Die, 1 3/8″ Basic Black Striped Grosgrain, Basic Black Satin, Pearls, Antique Brads, Newsprint Designer Paper, Blushing Bride Designer Paper.

10 thoughts on “Fancy Flower – Inkspirations #75

  1. This is gorgeous Carrie… I love that it has no stamping.. and what you did with the Ribbons. It’s so elegant and Vintage.

  2. Wow, this is stunning! I wish I had a quarter of your talent!

  3. Carrie, as always, this is lovely, and I definitely think it has a little bit of “you flair” 😉 I will definitely be CASEing!! 🙂

  4. Gorgeous flower, Carrie! Love this colour combo and your card is fabulous.

  5. Carrie, I’m always blown away by your creativeness. Your take on the sketch this week is gorgeous, so many wonderful details and such beautiful colours. And that flower….wow….just amazing. So lovely. Enjoy your weekend.

  6. WOW is right! This is an absolutely sublime card, Carrie. What a gorgeous flower, and colour combination. Great take on the sketch.

  7. Gorgeous card, love the colors and your creativity!!! You always do an amazing job on your cards. ~TFS

  8. You’ve rocked it again Carrie! Absolutely gorgeous creation! Every detail is perfect. Have a great week. 🙂

  9. Absolutely STUNNING Carrie! Such a gorgeous colour combo, and that layered flower is just beautiful! Thanks for your inspiration, Love Keesh x

  10. Beautiful card. Pink & Black is one of my favorite color combos. Love the way you did the flower.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

