Artistic Avenger

A Glimmery Petal

9 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary they’ve got a fantastic colour challenge for us all! Such wonderful colours, perfect to make a summery fun card!

I wanted to go fairly simple with this one as the colours are so bold so I went with an Old Olive base and I layered it with a portion of a Tempting Turquoise Scallop Square which I cut with my Big Shot and textured with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (and then sponged).

Next, I cut a Tempting Turquoise tag out using my Two Big Tags die and layered a piece of Whisper White on top. I then stamped a large flower using the retiring stamp set, Pick a Petal. Such a great set! After doing that, I set out to add some glimmer and shimmer!

I took the stamped Whisper White piece and covered it with Versamark and then Heat and Stick Powder. After I heated that, I sprinkled the whole thing with Dazzling Diamonds and heat it slightly to set the glitter. Fun huh?

I then stamped a couple of centre pieces from Pick a Petal – the first in Tangerine Tango and punched with the 1″ circle punch and the second in Old Olive and punched with the 1/2″ circle punch. On the smaller on, I added a bubble from the Build-A-Brads for a smooth effect.

Lastly, I added some 3/8″ Old Olive Taffeta Ribbon and a little tag using the Medium Jewelry tag punch and the Tiny Tags stamp set.

I’m liking this layout so much that I may just play around with it for a Convention swap! Oh, just wait, I’ve got some doozies to show you and my non-winning Artisan Award entries are coming up soon too!

I do hope you’ll head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along with this week’s challenge!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Old Olive, Tempting Turquoise, Tangerine Tango, Whisper White.

Ink:  Old Olive, Tempting Turquoise, Tangerine Tango, Versamark.

Stamps: Pick a Petal, Tiny Tags.

Accessories: Big Shot, Scallop Square Die, Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder, Heat and Stick Powder, Dazzling Diamonds, 3/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, Medium Jewelry tag punch, 1″ circle punch, 1/2″ circle punch, Build-A-Brads, Two Big Tags die.

9 thoughts on “A Glimmery Petal

  1. Love all the sparkle on this, Carrie! Great job with the color combo this week!

  2. Fantantastic card! Love all the glimmer and I gotta try that wonderful color combo!

  3. Wow! That is a fabulous card! Love the color combo and what you did with the dazzling diamonds… I really love everything about this card, it’s so glitzy and fun!

  4. The sparkle is wonderful! And I love that the focal point is askew 🙂

  5. I love the card and I love saying, Artistic Avenger too. hahhahah

    It reminds of Flow on the TV commercial for Progressive Ins. She does a growling thing when she is doing one of the commercials. I think it is funny.

    anyway I love your card.

    Diana
    from Omro, WI.

  6. Love the glittery panel and all the layers are very well put together!

  7. Fabulous card Carrie! Love the skewed panel–you are the Queen of Two Tags! And the sparkly glimmer petal is gor-jusss! Great job with these colors my friend! I’m waited very [im]patiently for all the artisan entries–can’t wait!

  8. This is just lovely!! I love the glimmer paper that you made! And the tiny tag is just perfect!!

  9. Carrie, I love how you made this card. I just found your site today (Thank Goodness!). I’ll be back regularly!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

