Artistic Avenger

In the Trees

11 Comments

Today I’ve got a card to signify a very important day – Father’s Day. I have a wonderful Father who I love dearly and I have a husband who is a phenomenal father who I am lucky to celebrate also. And, to all the Dads out there, enjoy your day!

For my card, I was inspired by both the ColourQ and the Stamping 411 challenges – but I did take a few liberties on both.

The base for the card is Bashful Blue (I didn’t have any Bordering Blue). The back panel is Basic Gray layered with Bravo Burgundy (which I stamped with the Woodgrain background). After the last card I posted,  I wanted to do another landscape type card. they are just so much fun!

For the landscape, I used the Trendy Trees stamp set and the challenge colours (Cajun Craze, Bravo Burgundy and I added Chocolate Chip for the tree trunks). I used Bashful Blue to sponge out the clouds and then went around the outer edge with Marina Mist. For the hills, I used Old Olive and took a little bit of Always Artichoke to shade out the outline of the hills.

I took a small piece of vellum cardstock and stamped it with the sentiment from Teeny Tiny Wishes in Jet Black StazOn.

Because I just can’t do without ribbon, I added some 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain tied up in a knot with a Cajun Craze button. In the centre of that, I added an Early Espresso brad.

Again, I wish all of you dads out there a very Happy Father’s Day!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Cajun Craze, Bravo Burgundy, Bashful Blue, Basic Gray.

Ink: Cajun Craze, Bravo Burgundy, Bashful Blue, Marina Mist, Old Olive, Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip, Jet Black StazOn.

Stamps: Trendy Trees, Teeny Tiny Wishes, Woodgrain.

Accessories: 5/8″ Old Olive Grosgrain, Regals Buttons, Neutral Brads, Stampin’ Sponges.

11 thoughts on “In the Trees

  1. Great job…what a wonderful Father’s Day card! Love it! Thanks for playing along with Stamping 411!

  2. Great card Carrie. Only you could take this set and make it into something totally whimsical and wonderful!

  3. Love the trees and the setting – great card for dads!

  4. Carrie, you have been catching my eye quite a bit recently. I have cased a few of your cards. Thank you for such beautiful inspiration! God bless you!

  5. Always wonderful, Carrie! Love this little set—I need to dust it off! Perfect for Father’s Day—and we don’t mind the liberties taken! Thanks for playing with the CQC this week, too!

  6. Another awesome card Carrie! Love your landscape and the vellum for the sentiment is a great idea too!

  7. Carrie — your sponging on this card is perfection! And, love the vellum overlay for the sentiment! Fabulous job, as always! Thanks so much for being part of the Stamping 411 Challenge this week! Blessings, Gretchen

  8. Carrie, I love how you always add a little extra something to take your cards over the top! I look forward to each and every post!!!

  9. Totally perfect!! I just love this cute little stamp set and you did a great job with it and with our sketch!!! Thanks for playing along, always look forward to your cards/projects!!

  10. Wow Carrie! I love your style.. I’m always so excited to see that you’re playing along… Thank you! 😀

  11. Congratulations on being on Stampers Showcase at Stamping 411 for this gorgeous card.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

