Artistic Avenger

For My Dad…

7 Comments

Trying to get a jump start on my weekend crafting needs! This Sunday is Father’s Day! I used the very creative sketch from Create with Connie and Mary this week. It really is a great one!

I went with a fairly monochromatic colour scheme on this one (I think this lends itself nicely to a masculine theme). The base is Sahara Sand and I’ve layered it with Early Espresso and then some Sahara Sand designer paper.

For the side piece, I actually made a scallop envelope out of Early Espresso designer paper and adhered it on it’s side. Then I made a small tag on which I stamped the Father’s Day sentiment from All Holidays. I stamped it three different times in coordinating colours and then cut out the pieces and affixed them with dimensionals.

I stamped the large tree from Lovely as a Tree in Jet Black StazOn and then watercoloured with various shades of green (Pear Pizzazz, Old Olive, Always Artichoke).

For a little extra pop of colour, I added a strip of stapled 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain.

Now it’s your turn! Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along with us!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Early Espresso, Confetti White, Sahara Sand, Old Olive.

Ink: Early Espresso, Sahara Sand, Old Olive, Pear Pizzazz, Always Artichoke, Jet Black StazOn.

Stamps: All Holidays, Lovely as a Tree.

Accessories:  Neutrals Designer Series Paper, 2 1/2″ circle punch, Mini Library Clips, 1 1/4″ circle punch, Scallop Envelope Die, Sizzix Big Shot, Aquapainter, 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain.

7 thoughts on “For My Dad…

  1. Beautiful, beautiful card. I love the little envelope and then the tag. The colors are perfect. Good job.

  2. I love how you look at the sketch and then interpret it as only you can – that’s the Carrie Component 🙂 Wonderful Father’s Day card – love how you used an envelope.

  3. Magnifique! Love the tag coming out of the envelope and how you used this sentiment set. It’s a big block, so it is not always easy to add to a card.

    Nicely done!

  4. I always enjoy seeing your interpretation of a sketch and love how you’ve done the envelope here instead of the top note!! Just the perfect “Carrie touch”! Fabulous job on the sentiment and the tree and I adore the stapled ribbon! Perfectly un-fussy for a masculine card. Honored to be stamping alongside of you!! ((hugs))

  5. WOW WOW WOW!! This is one amazing card Carrie!! I will be featuring it on My Crafty Picks #21 with a link back to your blog on 6-19-11. If you wish to decline please email me at trbauer@insightbb.com

    Take care
    Tiffany
    http://www.mycraftyworld.blogspot.com

  6. Perfect masculine card. I agree with everyone else……love the sideways envelope!

  7. This is a super cool Father’s Day card! Love the envelope! Another great interpretation of the sketch!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

