Artistic Avenger

At Least She’s Older than Me!

13 Comments

This card is bright and fun and for a great lady who turned 40 yesterday. I love when I’m younger than someone, I totally flaunt it! So bad, I know but so much fun!

I decided to use two challenges as the starting point for today’s card – Mojo Monday and the Paper Players. Both are great go-to challenge blogs that I love to use.

The base is Daffodil Delight and I’ve made a central layered panel of Daffodil Delight, Melon Mambo (punched with the Pinking Hearts border punch), Wild Wasabi, and then Sweet Stitches (retired) designer paper.

The central circle is a 2 1/2″ circle of Confetti White. I stamped an image from Golden Oldies (I think this is one of the only retired stamp sets I’ve kept and keep using) and coloured it in with coordinating colours. I added a bracket from the Hearts and Brackets Sizzix Die with a little Ice Cream Parlour button from Sale-A-Bration. Lastly I added a little piece of retired Melon Mambo dotted grosgrain and a “happy birthday” from On Your Birthday.

Thanks for stopping by today!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Confetti White, Melon Mambo, Wild Wasabi, Daffodil Delight.

Ink: Melon Mambo, Wild Wasabi, Daffodil Delight, Blushing Bride, Crumb Cake, Basic Gray, Sahara Sand.

Stamps: Golden Oldies, On Your Birthday.

Accessories: Hearts and Brackets Die, Sizzix Big Shot, Pinking Hearts Border punch. Retired items:ย  Dotted Melon Mambo grosgrain, Ice Cream Parlour buttons, Sweet Stitches designer paper.

13 thoughts on “At Least She’s Older than Me!

  1. LOL. How cute. Lovely card
    ColleenB.

  2. I didn’t turn 40, but I turned 42 yesterday…is it for me? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love this card Carrie – great job!

  3. I think you’re older then me…should i flaunt it…LOL.. : )

    love this card! way to cute..!

  4. Oh, to be 40 again! But I also hang out with friends who are older and give them such a hard time on birthdays – too fun not to! Love the bright colors and creative
    “pinking” edge and ribbon treatment. Very cute!

  5. Fun card! and I wish I was 40 again too! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players this week!

  6. Beautiful card! Great job! Love it! Olena

  7. This is such a bright, fun card, Carrie! I’m cringing a bit though, I’m not far off from turning the big 4 0!! Now you’ve made me feel really old LOL Thanks for playing along with The Paper Players this week!

  8. This is one of my favorite sets! I love what you’ve done with it!

    Hmm, I think you’re older than me – I’ll have to remember that when I send you a card on your next b-day… ;P

    Cindy

  9. OK, Carrie, I just had a birthday yesterday and I DON’T want to talk about it except to say that the sentiment might just apply to me, LOL!
    LOVE your super cute card, great use of the colors and I love the mix of patterns! The bracket is the perfect embellishment.

  10. No fair–you’re younger than me AND you do whimsy just as well as artistic and elegant! What a great stamp and I love how you’ve framed her with the bracket, ribbon and all the DSP strips! Adorable card, Carrie! So glad you play along with us at The Paper Players! ((hugs))

  11. Carrie, seriously… this is such an appropriate card for us old ladies ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your treatment of the image and that you distressed the layers. The pearls add that perfect “old lady” element! I bet your friend really enjoyed this fabulous card! Who wouldn’t!
    So glad you shared it with the Paper Players this week
    Jaydee

  12. Carrie, this is too much fun! I love all of your awesome details and the subtle distressing. So happy you share your fabulous talent with us at the Paper Players! You are always an inspiration. Hugs! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Fun, fun, fun, Carrie! I love the bracket and the pearls! Oh to be 40 again! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

