Artistic Avenger

Simple Surfing

12 Comments

I recently got the new Summer Splash stamp set from the AWESOME Summer Mini and have been wanting to play around with it a bit. I love those surfboards and knew that these images were ones I wanted to play with right away. I also had a colour combo in mind – very boyish – Basic Gray, Basic Black, Whisper White, Marina Mist and Sahara Sand.

What I didn’t have was a layout. For this, I searched some of my favourite challenge blogs and found that Stamping 411 had a great sketch that would work just perfectly.

The base for the card is Sahara Sand and it is layered with Basic Black and then Basic Gray. On the bottom, I added some designer paper from the Wicked Fun Specialty Designer Paper and on top, I used my Air Spritzer Tool and spritzed some Basic Black.

The diagonal behind piece is Marina Mist which is cut using the Big Shot and the Two Big Tagz die. I did cut it down a bit and stamped the sand dollar/starfish/shell trio stamp. I also roughed up the edges and added a knot of Basic Black satin ribbon.

For the surfboards themselves, I first stamped them all in Sahara Sand. This is acting as the shadow. I then stamped them all with a combination of the card colours, cut them out and added them with dimensionals. I also added some Whisper White Baker’s Twine in behind the boards for a little extra fun detail.

The sentiment is from the hostess set Apple Blossoms and is really only half of it and the other half is….

… inside. I’m always inspired by those who do up their cards on the inside to match. I love this look and need to do it more often!

Thanks for stopping by today!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Basic Black, Whisper White, Sahara Sand, Basic Gray, Marina Mist.

Ink: Basic Black, Sahara Sand, Basic Gray, Marina Mist.

Stamps: Summer Splash, Apple Blossoms (hostess level 2).

Accessories: Big Shot, Two Big Tagz die, Basic Black Satin Ribbon, Whisper White Baker’s Twine, Wicked Fun designer paper, Air Spritzer tool.

12 thoughts on “Simple Surfing

  1. This is such a great card. Thanks for sharing.

  2. OMGoodness!!! this is so awesome – i would have never thougth to use the tag thay way – slipping an image under the flap. genious, i tell you – genious!!
    thank you for all of your inspiration!

  3. Another stunner!! Beautiful card, hon.

  4. What a fun card. Now you need to find a CA surfer dude to send it to ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Love, love, LOVE this card!!! Makes me want to buy that stamp set now ๐Ÿ™‚
    Great job!!!

  6. wow, Carrie — love the colors you used for this card. It’s “sophisticated” summer fun! Great job! Thanks so much for playing along at Stamping 411! Blessings, Gretchen

  7. Carrie, this is RAD! Love the way you’ve used the two tags die and the baker’s twine behind the surfboards! Great job on the inside too!

  8. Cowabunga – Nance stole my thunder – I was going to say RAD! Love how you double stamped and popped up the boards – great card!

  9. Awesome!!! (per usual ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your shadowed surfboards, and what a clever use for that tag!!

  10. That is such a terrific masculine card! I love all of the great details you’ve crammed in there, including how the corner of your main image is tucked underneath the tag’s flap. The inside is equally beautiful!

    Love it!
    Cindy

  11. love this card–GREAT colour combo.. : )

  12. WOW, love the colour combo and the surfboard shadows.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

