Artistic Avenger

A Happy Hat

20 Comments

Oh my word, did I have fun with this one! I found a new challenge site (and I LOVE challenges) and it’s called The Friday Mashup. Their challenge this week was to make a project with the theme “Ribbons, Pearls and All Things Girls”. I knew I wanted to tackle this as I feel this is not my strength.

But I wasn’t sure where to start so I searched a few of  my favourite challenge blogs for a sketch that inspired me. And, I found it at The Paper Players. Their sketch just shouted “pick me” and the idea was born! I loved looking at all the hats at the recent royal wedding and I knew I wanted to “throw my hat in the ring” ….. (oh, yeah, that was a bad one!).

I very rarely use retired items on cards but I knew I wanted to use the Springtime Vintage Designer paper from the last mini as the fabric is still current (on the carry over list) and wanted them to match.

The base is Crumb Cake and I added a strip of Springtime Vintage designer paper down the centre with a little Marina Mist and some First Edition designer paper behind it. Because the hat is so detailed, I wanted to keep the base simple. Okay, now for the hat itself….

The brim is Rose Red cardstock cut with the largest scallop circle from the Scallops #2 die. I then punched a strip of Springtime Vintage designer paper with the Eyelet border punch and adhered in a circle on the brim piece. I then took a strip of cardstock and scored 1/4″ on both long sides. I cut notches in them so they’d be able to be adhered to the circle that was cut from the Circles #2 die. These two pieces are in Pretty in Pink. I added a very thin strip of Rose Red and a band of pearls to the hat.

Now, for the extra hat embellishment. I made a bow of the Springtime Vintage Fabric and in the centre, I added a flower cut from the Wood sheets (the flower is from the Baskets and Blooms die). And for one more little bit of somethin’ somethin’, I added a flower of First Edition designer paper (I used one of the new punches from the Summer Mini and scrunched up the paper) and added a Antique Brad to the centre.

Lastly, for the sentiment, I made a little Very Vanilla flag and stamped it with a sentiment from Elements of Style. I added a little flower from the Bitty Punch Bundle and a small notch of First Edition paper affixed with a Vintage Trinket.

I so appreciate you stopping by and spending some time here!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Crumb Cake, Rose Red, Pretty in Pink, Very Vanilla, Marina Mist.

Ink: Early Espresso.

Stamps: Elements of Style.

Accessories:  Big Shot, Circles #2 die, Scallops #2 die, Basic Pearls, Springtime Vintage Designer Paper and Fabric, Bitty Punch Bundle, Vintage Trinkets, Antique Brads, Baskets and Blooms Die, Wood Sheets, First Edition Designer Paper, Eyelet Border punch.

20 thoughts on “A Happy Hat

  1. You Nailed it Carrie!! I love the pearls around the hat, and what a great idea using the fabric for a bow.

    Did you see one of the hats from the Royal wedding sold for over $150,000 crazy!

    This is a perfect card for our Girly challenge. I’m so happy you found us and joined in this week at the Friday Mashup.

  2. Hats off to you for this one! This is fabulous!

  3. How delightfully fun, Carrie! Well done!

  4. Wow Carrie! You always have the most creative ideas! Love the hat and the way you used the sketch! I am happy you joined us at the Paper Players and at the Friday Mashup!
    Smiles,
    Lesley (fellow BC’er)

  5. Carrie – your hat is just FABULOUS!! Perfect for the challenge this week. Thanks so much for joining us at the Friday Mashup!

  6. Fantastic card! Love all the little touches you put on there, like the pearls around the hat. Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

  7. This is a lovely project, Carrie.

  8. This is simply amazing, love the creativity that has gone into this. I’m really glad you decided to play along with us at the Friday Mashup this week. Cheers,
    Kasey ~ in Oz

  9. Absolutely awesome and over-the-top creative, Carrie! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

  10. Your creations always leave me utterly SPEECHLESS! Your creativity is boundless and this one is no exception…the hat is gorgeous, dahling! And I love how you’ve interpreted my sketch! Ok, so maybe I’m not speechless just gobsmacked! So glad you could join us at The Paper Players!

  11. Wow, this is really pretty – looks like you spent a lot of time creating this one. Thanks for sharing!

  12. This is amazing!!! The hat is such a fun focal point! Thanks for playing along with the Friday Mashup! (Glad you found us!)

  13. Wowl. I’m always amazed at your creativity and this one is no exception. Just a stunning, beautiful card. Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

  14. Congratulations! Your card is beautiful!

  15. As the Brits would say, how brilliant! Love the colors you used and the fact that it mimics the hats that were in abundance at the “Royal Wedding.” This is just fabulous!

  16. Loads of great details in there! The idea was a great idea!

    Cindy

  17. WOWZA, Carrie! (as I pick my jaw up off the floor!) This is absolutely gorgeous! So many details, I have to keep going back to look again to make sure I didn’t miss anything. Your work is absolutely amazing and your creativity is so inspiring! Thanks so much for joining us at The Paper Players this week! 🙂

  18. Wow! Look at all of the beautiful detail in this card…it’s stunning! Such creative thinking with having the hat be 3-D. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!

  19. wowzers pretty much sums it up.. : )

  20. Gorgeous!! I’ve been missing you . . . .great to see one of your marvelous creations again!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

