Artistic Avenger

Ahoy – a surprise is on the horizon!

11 Comments

A surprise you say? OH YEAH – there is a great surprise to unveil today.  I am super duper excited to announce that Create with Connie and Mary Summer Edition is ready to share their 4th Surprise of the week…..and I’m it! I am surprise #4 this week! I am the the SURPRISE GUEST DESIGNER for Week #4!

If you are a subscriber to Create with Connie and Mary Summer Edition,  I will be sharing with you a MOST FABULOUS 3D project and tutorial using one of that week’s featured sets.  But WHICH set is a SURPRISE, too!
Now remember…the only way to see my SURPRISE GUEST DESIGNER project is to be a subscriber to Create with Connie and Mary Summer Edition and sign up now while you can save $5 off the subscription price.  The early bird special of $24.95 ends Saturday, May 14th at 11:55 pm.  Don’t delay!
This is not the only exciting share I have with you all today – another reason to head on over to Create with Connie and Mary is the blog candy this week. But wait! Before you run on over there, make sure you play along with this week’s colour challenge:
For my card, I used my newest “go-to” set, The Open Sea. Today’s card is a 3″ x 6″ card. The base is Not Quite Navy and I’ve layered it with a piece of whisper White on which I stamped the manifest stamp randomly in Sahara Sand ink.
I added two thin strips of Sahara Sand Designer Paper and over that added the word “ahoy” using my Simple Alphabet die. A, H and Y are cut using Poppy Parade cardstock and I sponged the edges with Early Espresso. For the “O”, I used the large circular shape from again the Simple Alphabet but this time used Not Quite Navy.
In the centre of the “O” I stamped and lightly watercoloured the ship from The Open Sea using the challenge colours.
To finish, I added a little flag on a Chocolate Chip cardstock “stick”. The flag was stamped with the Calendar Alphabets and Numbers and tied on with some Linen Thread.
I do hope you’ll find the time to play along with this challenge at Create with Connie and Mary!
Products used on today’s project:
Cardstock: Whisper White, Not Quite Navy, Poppy Parade.
Ink: Sahara Sand, Jet Black StazOn, Baja Breeze, Poppy Parade, Not Quite Navy.
Stamps: The Open Sea.
Accessories: Big Shot,
11 thoughts on “Ahoy – a surprise is on the horizon!

  1. Congratulations on being secret # 4! Looking forward to your project!

  2. Can’t wait to see your project!! Your card is awesome as always!

  3. You are rocking this set, Carrie! Great card.

  4. Woow….. That card is unbelievably cool!!!! I absolutely love it! Thanks for sharing! 😀

    Cindy

  5. This is an awesome card! I love all of the details in this project!

  6. Ahoy Matey – his card is definitely seaworthy! Love it!

  7. Aye, matey ’tis a fine card you’ve made! Love the randomly stamped manifest….and huge congrats on your Guest Designer spot!! I’m so excited for you…Arrrrr!

  8. You are one very clever lady, Carrie! FANTASTIC card!!!! 🙂

  9. Congrats Carrie! And I love this card too – I need to case it – I come from a family of sailors so I was very excited to see these nautical themed items in the mini. My sport growing up was racing sailboats, my dad and brother, sister-in-law are all active sailors now and my 6 year old nephew is just learning.

  10. Congrats on joining us for the Summer Subscription! Very clever use of the new stamp set. I would have never thought to use wording in such a way!

  11. This is just fantastic!! Love how you made the “o” a frame! Love the colors, too.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

