Artistic Avenger

You Rock My World

8 Comments

Yes, again. Another card using The Open Sea! I know, I know – use something else already! I just can’t, this set is just so inspiring.

For today’s card, it is my design team contribution to the Create with Connie and Mary challenge this week which is a fantastic sketch that looks like this:

The base for this card is Soft Suede on which I stamped the manifest image just down the right side using my Soft Suede ink pad.

For the horizontal panel, I used Sahara Sand on which I stamped the globe image in Sahara Sand ink and distressed the edges. I also sponged them lightly with Soft Suede.

A strip of Night of Navy was added after I punched it with the Scallop Border punch and over that I added a super cool ribbon treatment. I used my 3/8″ Twill and my Crop-A-Dile to make random holes. I then set Jumbo Eyelets and in the last one, one of the Antique Brads that looks a bit like a compass.

Behind that brad, I added a bit of Night of Navy 1 3/8″ Striped Grosgrain. And, for even a little more extra detail, I bunched the top a bit and clipped it together with a Vintage Trinket pin.

But I think my most favourite part of this card is the focal panel. I used the stamp set Word Play (on special this month, check out the National Scrapbooking Month Promotion button to the left) and stamped it in Soft Suede ink on some Very Vanilla cardstock.

I then stamped the globe image in Sahara Sand (half strength) in behind it and I wanted to add a little extra detail to the globe so I stamped it again on some scraps in Night of Navy and punched it out. I then stamped the compass over it (half strength) and sponged it with Soft Suede. It is put onto the card with a dimensional for more added detail.

This card was so much fun to make and I hope you like it. Now show us what you’ve got and play along with this week’s challenge at Create with Connie and Mary.

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Soft Suede, Very Vanilla, Night of Navy, Sahara Sand.

Ink: Soft Suede, Night of Navy, Sahara Sand.

Stamps: Word Play, The Open Sea.

Accessories: 3/4″ circle punch, 3/8″ twill, Jumbo Eyelets, 1 3/8″ Night of Navy striped grosgrain, Vintage Trinkets, Antique Brads.

8 thoughts on “You Rock My World

  1. Wonderful card! I love your take on this sketch! Just awesome!!

  2. So nautical with the twill and the striped ribbon! Great sketch as well and you rocled it!

  3. Well maybe you did rocl it for all I know – but you did ROCK it!

  4. Awesome card Carrie. So many elements and everything works so perfectly together!

  5. I just love seeing how you interpret a sketch and this one is no exception–off the charts fantastic! Love all the background stamping and that touch of striped ribbon is perfectly sea-worthy! Alright, alright, I’m buying this set! ((hugs))

  6. This is a beautiful card, Very artistic. I am just an amateur stamper and I love to see others cards and creations. Thank you for posting.

  7. I love your gorgeous card! I wish we had this sentiment in French, it is beautifully designed…

  8. This is a beautiful card! You always think outside the box. Thank you for sharing!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

