Artistic Avenger

A Daily Adventure

6 Comments

If you haven’t already noticed, I LOVE the new stamp set, The Open Sea. Honestly, I don’t know if a year ago I would have been drawn to this stamp set. That is the thing about creativity – it changes and evolves all the time. It could be colour, medium or style. On that note, I thank you all again for sharing in my creative journey with me over these past couple of years. I hope you’ll enjoy all that I have to offer in the future!

So this card was actually made for a swap organized by Desiree Spenst. She is a great artist so please check out her blog. I wanted to wait until the swaps were sent out and received before I posted this car.

The colours I chose for this particular project are Cajun Craze, Not Quite Navy, Very Vanilla and Early Espresso.

First, I stamped the manifest image from The Open Sea on the Cajun Craze card base with Cajun Craze ink. Next, I took a piece of Not Quite Navy and ran it through the Big Shot with the Square Lattice embossing folder. I roughed up the edges and then added a piece of First Edition designer paper on which I stamped various images from the stamp set. I also sponged and stitched the paper with my sewing machine (on the actual swaps, I used a thread that is almost the same colour as Cajun Craze).

And for the last little details, I stamped the ship from The Open Sea in Early Espresso on some Naturals Ivory cardstock, layered it on some Early Espresso and tore the edges. I stamped and cut out an anchor and adhered with dimensionals. Over one edge, I added the sentiment from On the Grow with a Vintage Trinket.

At the top, I added a loop of 5/8″ Early Espresso grosgrain through which I placed a Jumbo Eyelet. In the centre I added a Vintage trinket piece with a tie of 1/8″ Early Espresso Taffeta.

Okay, I think thats it for for this one!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Cajun Craze, Early Espresso, Not Quite Navy, Naturals Ivory.

Ink: Cajun Craze, Early Espresso, Not Quite Navy.

Stamps: On the Grow, The Open Sea.

Accessories: Big Shot, Square Lattice Die, 5/8″ Early Espresso Grosgrain, 1/8″ Early Espresso Taffeta, Jumbo Eyelets, Vintage Trinkets, First Edition Designer Series Paper.

6 thoughts on “A Daily Adventure

  1. It is always the perfect adventure visiting here – I never know what I am going to see but I know it will always be fabulous – just like this card!

  2. Before I scrolled down I was like “ooh I hope she made that one for our swap” And you did! so it’s in the mail to me right now – yay me! Gorgeous card!

  3. Fabulously done, Carrie. Love the distressing and colours you used.

  4. I agree with Linda, it is always an artistic adventure with the Avenger! Your fabulous card has sold me on this set…plop…there they go into my shopping cart! Wonderful details as always…oh, and it’s my birthday month too!! ((hugs))

  5. You are really rocking this stamp set, Miss Carrie! Love ALL of the details on this one! And colours, too!

  6. Pingback: Just a CASE for you today….. « Stamping with Val

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

