Artistic Avenger

Head North, My Friend….

13 Comments

I am so excited about this new stamp set, On the Sea, that is in the upcoming Summer Mini Catalogue! I just adore the imaging and all that you can do with them.

Today, I’ve done a card that was inspired by The Paper Players latest sketch challenge – it is one of those sketches that you can really play with.

The base for this card is Bravo Burgundy and I’ve layered it with some River Rock. On the River Rock layer, I wheeled the Very Vintage wheel in Early Espresso ink and sponged the edges.

Over this, I added a piece of Early Espresso which was layered with a piece of Newsprint designer series paper. On the DSP, I stamped the large roster-type stamp from On the Sea in Early Espresso ink, used the Spiral edge punch along the left side and roughed it all up.

For the last little bits, I added a tie of 3/8″ Twill Tape which I secured with some Linen Thread and a Chocolate Chip brad and a sentiment from another AWESOME Summer Mini Set, On the Grow. I think it goes perfectly with this set.

I stamped the globe in Bravo Burgundy and then the compass on top in Early Espresso. The anchor is stamped in Not Quite Navy (this colour is tied in with the little scallop edge to the right).

There are probably more details that I’m missing but it’s getting late and my eyes are tired!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: River Rock, Very Vanilla, Early Espresso, Bravo Burgundy, Not Quite Navy.

Ink: Bravo Burgundy, Early Espresso, Not Quite Navy.

Stamps: On the Sea, On the Grow.

Accessories:  3/8″ Twill tape, Jumbo Brads, Linen Thread, Newsprint Designer Series Paper, Spiral Edge punch, Stampin’ Sponges, 3/4″ circle punch.

13 thoughts on “Head North, My Friend….

  1. A perfect vintage-masculine card! I love the collage effect you created, along with the unique and creative ribbon treatment! Absolutely stunning! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

  2. Carrie, this is gorgeous, love the vintage feel to your card. Cheers, Kasey ~ in Oz

  3. FABULOUS card Carrie, I love it!!

  4. Really, really well done! I love the layering and dimension. TFS!

  5. Fabulous Carrie! Love the details, especially the layering of stamping and colours! The way you used the ribbon down the side is so unique! Thanks for joining the Paper Players!
    Smiles,
    Lesley

  6. Beautiful card for a man!! Lovely design!
    Smiles!
    Gay

  7. Fabulously rustic and wonderfully done with all the details!!

  8. The twill is wonderful with this set and your design! Love it all – my favorite detail is the faintly stamped image of the ship!

  9. As usual, I love it! Have been playing with this set but nothing has come out quite as unique as yours! Thanks for playing with the PP!

  10. WOW! Leave it to you to make a fantastic project with this stamp set. It is one of my fave set from the Summer mini as well, and you used it brilliantly! Love all of the layers! 😀

    TFS!
    Cindy

  11. Fabulous vintage card! All those layers and elements look great together!

  12. Absolutely awesome, Carrie! Love the distressing and this really is a great masculine card, in every way! What an cool ribbon treatment, too! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players! 🙂

  13. Wow, what a great design, love this

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

