Artistic Avenger

H-“owl” Are You?

6 Comments

This is the card I had originally made for the Create with Connie and Mary sketch challenge this week but it is using a retired Sale-A-Bration set so I remade my design team card to this one. But I just had to show you this one as it’s too cute!

The base is simply Whisper White and I’ve added a large scallop square in Basic Black. What I did for this was use the Scallop Square die (clear) and I cut it down to this size (cut 2 scallops off on one side, overlapped and glued and then did the same in the other direction). Next, I added four 1 1/2″ squares on which I stamped the owl with Versamark and embossed with clear embossing powder. Once that was done, I sponged over each owl with a coordinating colour.

Here are the combinations of colours I used (first listed is the cardstock used and second listed is the colour I sponged):

  • Pink Pirouette – Melon Mambo
  • Bashful Blue – Pacific Point
  • River Rock – Old Olive
  • So Saffron – More Mustard

Lastly, I added a fun ribbon embellishment to the centre. I used this card at my recent heat embossing workshop and this was the make and take – super fun!

Thanks for taking the time to stop by today!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Pink Pirouette, River Rock, So Saffron, Bashful Blue, Basic Black.

Ink: Basic Black, Melon Mambo, Pacific Point, More Mustard, Old Olive, Versamark.

Stamps: So Happy for You (SAB), Punch Bunch (SAB).

Accessories: Big Shot, Scallop Square, Clear Embossing Powder, Stampin’ Sponges, Linen Thread, Ice Cream Parlour buttons/ribbon (SAB).

6 thoughts on “H-“owl” Are You?

  1. As you stated Carrie, “too cute”, love the simplicity with great results! Happy Easter to you and yours!

  2. I have this set – it is already retired – and I haven’t used the owl yet – yikes! So I appreciate the ideas for “older” sets. Love the Andy War”howl” look to this card – great colors! And thanks for the color chart and how to! Happy Easter~

  3. Super cute card, Carrie! I am so glad you shared it with us! Love the embellishment in the center!

  4. It IS very cute, Carrie!!! I love the look! Thanks for sharing it anyway!

  5. This is just so super cute! I’m glad that you shared it!

  6. Love that we got to see 2 cards from you this week! Awesome!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

