Artistic Avenger

My Own Faberge Egg

5 Comments

First let me warn you that this post is going to be short – I’ve been suffering from a sinus & chest infection and am just not my jolly ol’ self. Good thing I worked ahead on my DT work!

At Create with Connie and Mary, there is a fantabulous inspiration challenge, here it is:

I was immediately drawn to the colours of this cake and to me, they felt like a Faberge egg. Okay, I think figuring out how to spell that may have been the hardest part of this post.

The colours I used are Marina Mist, River Rock and Very Vanilla. I ran a piece of River Rock designer paper through the Big Shot with an embossing folder and then took my Versamark and rubbed it over the top and embossed with gold embossing powder. I was careful not to get Versamark in the grooves. If I’d done it in silver I think it’d look like a tin ceiling.

For the egg, I cut it out with my Big Shot and the Ovals die. I embossed the flower from Elements of Style in gold and coloured in the flowers. I added a few pearls just ’cause. I also used my Versamarker and Air Spritzer tool for the splatter. Fun, huh? I also ran the edges of the egg in my Versamark and them embossed gold all around the outside.

Lastly, I had to add some ruffled ribbon and layered it on some Very Vanilla which was punched with the Scallop Trim border punch. A little jewelry tag and a pin finish the look.

So let’s see what you can come up with now! Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and show us your stuff!

Products used on today’s project:

Cardstock: Marina Mist, River Rock, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Versamark, Versamarker, Marina Mist.

Stamps: Elements of Style, Teeny Tiny Wishes.

Accessories: Big Shot, Ovals die, 1 1/4″ Marina Mist striped grosgrain, Jewelry Tag Punch, gold embossing powder, Neutrals designer paper, Scallop trim border punch, markers, pearls.

5 thoughts on “My Own Faberge Egg

  1. Very pretty. Love the ribbon–I find doing something with this wider ribbon a bit of a challenge and I like your idea a lot. Where do Connie and Mary come up with these pictures. Wow. Feel better soon.

  2. As always, exquisitely done. I really enjoy your creations each week and am happy to be on the CCMC design team with you!

  3. What a great way to capture the gold! Very nice card!

  4. Love the glam and elegance of this! But the tiny tag, bit of ribbon on the stick pin is perfection! Feel better!

  5. What a super card! I love the background and the ribbon!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

