Artistic Avenger

A Glittery 30th

3 Comments

Today at Create with Connie and Mary there is a wonderful sketch challenge (not just today, but all week actually!). Oh, side note – I realized after I’d given this card away that I took the photo on the wrong setting, sorry for the not so clear picture! Here is the sketch:

Now you’ll notice I took a bunch of creative license with this sketch and that’s okay. Remember, a sketch is a starting point!

A dear lady in my life turned thirty a couple of weeks back so I used this sketch as my inspiration for her card, that and the Springtime Vintage suite in the Occasions Mini catalogue.

The base for this card is Baja Breeze and I’ve layered it with some Rose Red and then some Springtime Vintage fabric.

To emulate the three panels, I started with the large central panel. This is an oval of Pear Pizzazz which is backed with more fabric. On the front, I cut out the number “30” with my Simple Numbers Die and the “th” with the Serif Naturally die. What I did was adhere the Rose Red cardstock to a Multi Purpose Adhesive sheet before cutting so I could peel off the front for a completely adhesive number. Then I sprinkled my Rose Red glitter all over the place (yep, literally all over the place).

To finish off with the side panels, I embossed some Always Artichoke in the Petals a Plenty embossing folder and sponged. Over each of these I added a word – either “happy” or “birthday” which is from On Your Birthday.

I added a bow of Always Artichoke seam binding and an Antique Brad to finish the look.

I can’t wait to see what the rest of the design team has come up with some come on over to Create with Connie and Mary with me!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Rose Red, Baja Breeze, Always Artichoke, Very Vanilla textured, Pear Pizzazz.

Ink: Always Artichoke.

Stamps: On Your Birthday.

Accessories: corner rounder punch, Springtime Vintage fabric, Bitty Punch bundle, Basic Pearls, Antique Brads, Always Artichoke seam binding, Decorative label punch, Big Shot, Petals a Plenty embossing folder, Ovals #2 die, Simple Numbers die, Serif Naturally die, Multi Purpose Adhesive Sheets.

3 thoughts on “A Glittery 30th

  1. ugh! am i really old enough for this card!?

  2. What a fabulous card! I just love all the texture and glitter! Super fun!

  3. Great job on the glitter, I thought it was the Glimmer DSP at first! I’m sure the receiver of your card loved it!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

