Artistic Avenger

Butterfly Birthday Wishes

33 Comments

Don’t you love when you wake up inspired? This morning was one of those mornings. Yesterday I blog surfed for some challenges and found three that I wanted to attack today (not really planning to do them all in one shot!).

First, I wanted to use the CAS sketch at The Paper Players – great sketch, clean lines and so many ways to interpret. Next, the colours at ColourQ – very different than anything I’d put together (I had to scrounge around to find Kiwi Kiss and Bermuda Bay but I did it!). And lastly, I needed more birthday cards and the SU Only Challenge site has a birthday card challenge this week.

I started with the colours and decided that I wanted the base to be Concord Crush and to soften it, I layered it with Whisper White which I softened by sponging with Bashful Blue ink. Next, I added a layer of Kiwi Kiss designer paper (I can’t remember the name of the paper itself but it’s retired). And then I went to work on the central layer.

I made another layer of Concord Crush and Whisper White (which I also sponged with Bashful Blue ink). I had drew in the butterfly path lightly with a pencil. I then paper pierced it and then took my Sahara Sand marker and lightly ran it over the pierced holes. Like watercolouring, using a light Sahara Sand outline just makes it pop a little bit.

To tie all the colours in, I then used my Beautiful Wings embosslit and cut out various sizes of butterflies. A little bit of Whisper White organza ribbon tied together with a Bashful Blue button and a sentiment from So Happy For You (SAB) finishes the whole card.

Admittedly, not a new and “wow” type design but I really like the look of this card!

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

Products used on this project –

Cardstock: Concord Crush, Whisper White, Bashful Blue, Bermuda Bay.

Ink: Concord Crush, Bashful Blue.

Stamps: So Happy for You.

Accessories: Whisper White Organza Ribbon, Subtles buttons, Big Shot, Beautiful Wings Embosslit, Paper Piercer, Mat Pack, Corner Rounder Punch.

33 thoughts on “Butterfly Birthday Wishes

  1. Totally cute card, Carrie πŸ™‚

  2. Carrie, this is soooo sweet! Great way to combine two of my favorite challenges (giggle)! Thanks for playing with the Paper Players AND the CQC!!!

  3. Wowza, not only are you FAST, but this is GORGEOUS!!! Thanks for playing at the colourQ with us!

  4. This is gorgeous, Carrie! Love the butterflies and the pierced trails πŸ™‚

    I wish I could wake up inspired … lately, that’s not happenin’ !

  5. Perfect.

  6. Oh this is beautiful! I love the stitched swirly lines. Great colors too. TFS!

  7. Super cute Carrie. I am in need of some club ideas on short notice, hope you don’t mind me casing. Hope to see you sometime soon, it has been too long!

  8. I am “wowed”….love the path of the butterflies…clever and cute! Thanks for joining us at the Paper Players this week!
    Smiles,
    Lesley

  9. Wow Carrie – your talent always amazes me. I had sooooooo much trouble with this combo, and you make it look so easy.

  10. Simply a great card Carrie. I like the clean lines and colors. Very nice! TFS.

  11. Sweet card! Cute use of the colors.

  12. Your a Rock Star Carrie!

    Thank you for playing with us.

    xo, Marian Garcia (Studio M)
    The Paper Players March 2011 Guest Designer

  13. This is such a cute card! I looove that stitching!

  14. OMG!! I love this card. Your use of the colors from the Color Q Challenge are great!!
    Thanks for playing with us!

  15. It’s a WOW to me–in fact that’s exactly what I said when I opened it up! πŸ™‚ Love your use of the colors and all the little fluttering friends and I ADORE the pierced trail! So glad you could join us this week! πŸ™‚

  16. Fabulous card! I love how you tied the butterflies together with the piercing. Spectacular! Thanks for playing at ColourQ this week!

  17. Beautiful card, Carrie! Love all the butterflies! Great use of the colors. Thanks for playing with us at the colourQ.

  18. Carrie, this is just stunning! Fabulous use of the colours. I love how you subtly highlighted the butterflies’ paths. Thanks for playing along with ColourQ this week. πŸ™‚

  19. Love the faux stitching and all those fabulous little butterflies! πŸ™‚

  20. What a fun, happy card!

  21. What a fantastic card!!! Love your faux stitching and all those butterflies – such a wonderful composition!

  22. I love everything about this card!!!

  23. Cute card! I love all the butterflies and the piercing – I need to case this idea. Thank you for sharing!
    Monika Davis

  24. Way to combine challenges, Carrie! I love the “butterfly trails”! Thanks for joining us again at The Paper Players!

  25. What a stunning and fun card!!! I saw it on Paper Players and knew I had to come and look at it closer! So happy I did!!
    Fabulous!
    Maria

  26. Wow, Carrie! This is CAS perfection yet has so many fun details! I love the perfect, paper-pierced “trails” and the color combo is so pretty for the season. Thanks so much for playing along with The Paper Players this week! πŸ™‚

  27. I love the butterfly paths!! What a wonderful card and you really rocked all the challenges! I think it is a wow, too, by the way. So glad you could join us at SUO Challenges!

  28. This is so sweet and fresh. Great spring card.

  29. Very elegant! Thanks for playing SUO Challenges.

  30. I love the clean card this week Carrie! Thanks for playing at the colourQ!

  31. Very unique and cute card. I wish how to make it.

  32. This is absolutely beautiful, Carrie! Your details are just perfect! πŸ˜€

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

