Artistic Avenger

Pea-Pod Ribbon Blossom

11 Comments

What kind of title is that? Not sure, just wanted to kinda describe a little bit about this particular card….

The inspiration this week came from the Pals Paper Arts sketch – what a great one! And I recently got the Ornate Blossom (for FREE, gotta love Sale-A-Bration!) and really wanted to use it.

The base for this card is Basic Black and I’ve layered it with Very Vanilla and then First Edition designer paper. Actually there are two layers of the First Edition paper. The one adhered to the Very Vanilla is just sponged lightly. Then in keeping with the sketch, I made one that is about half the size. I roughed up this layer and sponged it and adhered it with a little strip of Basic Black showing the separation.

Next, the Ornate Blossom layer. I stamped it in Basic Black craft ink and embossed it with clear embossing powder. I then stamped it again on some scrap and used Heat and Stick powder and Dazzling Diamonds. I cut out a few different pieces and adhered. I added a little butterfly from Beautiful Wings with a pearl centre to the top.

For the ribbon, I used the 1 1/4″ Basic Black striped grosgrain (LOVE THIS STUFF!). I tied it off in various spots with linen thread and then added some cotton batting in the little pea-pod pieces. I added them onto the card with dimensionals and then added Basic Pearls over the linen thread.

You’ll notice a little hanging tag to the right. I used my Styled Silver Hodgepodge Hardware and made it look like a tag. This is tied on with some 1/8″ Basic Black taffeta.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Basic Black, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Basic Black Craft/Classic.

Stamps: Ornate Blossom, Elements of Style.

Accessories: First Edition designer paper, clear embossing powder, Heat and Stick powder, Dazzling Diamonds, Heat Tool, 1 1/4″ Basic Black striped grosgrain, 1/8″ Basic Black taffeta, linen thread, Basic Pearls, Styled Silver HodgePodge hardware, Big Shot, Beautiful Wings embosslit, 1″ circle punch

11 thoughts on “Pea-Pod Ribbon Blossom

  1. This is absolutely breathtaking! I also received this stamp FREE from Sale-a-bration. Now I am super excited to use it. Beautiful card!

  2. Love it!! The sparkle on the focal image and your ribbon treatment is fabulous. Never would have thought of using cotton – brilliant.

  3. How you manage to combine pearls, glitz and scrunchy sponged newsprint and make it look so fabulous I will never know!

  4. What a fantasic card!! I really like every part it…glitz with a little shabby chic!!

  5. Love your card….what a great idea…the way you’ve layered the Ornate Blossom ! The twisted ribbon really adds quite the touch.
    TFS

  6. Beautiful card!! I love the ribbon treatment! Thank you for playing along with Pals Paper Arts.

  7. Gorgeous and so unique! The way you did the flower and ribbon are so neat! I would love to try something like that πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  8. Oh my goodness, Carrie you are amazing!! Diamonds, ribbons and pearls are a girl’s best friend. I love, love how you’ve highlighted parts of the ornate blossom–fabulous! Thanks for stopping by my blog today. πŸ™‚

  9. I love this. Seriously. That little butterfly is perfect.

  10. Love this card Carrie! You truly are an “Artistic Avenger” and come up with the most amazing ideas- TFS your talent with all of us:-)

  11. WOW! You made black and vanilla look amazing! I am totally in love with how you did the Ornate Blossom image. Now, I’m even more excited than before that I got this stamp during SAB!

    TFS!
    Cindy

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

