Artistic Avenger

Bold Vintage Simplicity

8 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary there is a great colour challenge for you all to try. I had so many ideas in my head but then thought to myself that I wanted to do something a little different. My thought was to use these mostly bright colours in a vintage type theme. Here is the challenge palette:

So I started with a So Saffron card base and layered it with Real Red. I roughed up the Real Red layer on all sides.

Next, on the Whisper White layer, I stamped the Medallion stamp. I first inked it up with So Saffron and then sponged Real Red on the edges before I stamped it. Then, on this same layer, I wheeled the Very Vintage jumbo wheel in Crumb Cake in various spots around the edges. I then roughed up the edges and tore them slightly. To finish, I used my Spritzer Tool with my Crumb Cake marker and sponged with Crumb Cake ink.

I then added some Basic Pearls in a random pattern around the Medallion and a large bow of 5/8″ Real Red grosgrain. In the centre of the bow I added a large Crumb Cake button which is tied with Linen Thread and finished off with a button.

The sentiment comes from two different stamp sets. Fabulous Friend comes from Oval All (I used a marker to ensure not to get the floral images) and Afterthoughts (Hostess set, Level 1). Both are stamped in Basic Black on Crumb Cake cardstock.

I encourage you to head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and show us what you’ve got!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Whisper White, Real Red, So Saffron, Crumb Cake.

Ink: Basic Black, So Saffron, Real Red, Crumb Cake.

Stamps: Medallion, Oval All, Afterthoughts, Very Vintage Jumbo Wheel.

Accessories: 5/8″ Real Red grosgrain, Basic Pearls, Stampin’ Sponges, Spritzer Tool, Crumb Cake Stampin’ Write marker, Neutrals buttons.

8 thoughts on “Bold Vintage Simplicity

  1. Oooh, yummy colour combo and I love the varigated medallion. Great use of the tags and nice touch with the half pearl on the button. Great card as always 🙂

  2. Carrie, I look forward to your blog updates every day. Your designs are so cool, this one is no exception! Thanks for sharing your amazing designs!!

  3. Oh, also meant to say that I just love how you use stamps in unique ways – like pairing the greeting from one of the oval stamps with the “lucky me for knowing you.” You always have such great ideas!!

  4. You suceeded in the vintage card. Love the ink tones on the Medallion stamp!

  5. Great vintage style card! I love how these bright colors are muted on your card. It is just so lovely!!

  6. your designs are wonderful and soooo inspiring!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

