Artistic Avenger

Birthday Countdown!

15 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary, there is a great sketch challenge to play along with. I’ve realized that I don’t have many birthday cards so over the next few weeks you’ll see a lot of them on my blog! First, here is the sketch from the CCMC site:

For my sample, I wanted to use the products from the Celebrations Suite.

The base of the card is Bashful Blue and I’ve added a panel to the right of Real Red (punched with the Scallop Edge punch) and layered with Celebrations designer series paper.

Perpendicular to that, I’ve added a strip of Pacific Point cardstock and on that a strip from the Celebrations Accents (the little arrows pointing down).

Above that, some 5/8″ Old Olive ribbon was ruffled and a Real Red button from the Brights buttons was added.

I added a large scalloped circle from the Celebrations Accents. Did you know that you can make a self-adhesive die cut not sticky on the back by using your embossing buddy or some baby powder?

On that circle, I added a big “h” and “b” from the Simple Alphabet die. Β And to finish off, I added two little flags with “happy ” and “birthday” stamped from All Holidays.

This card is so fun and bright and a great layout that I know I’ll use again! Come on and play with us at Create with Connie and Mary this week!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Bashful Blue, Real Red, Old Olive, Pacific Point, Whisper White.

Ink: Pacific Point, Old Olive.

Stamps: All Holidays.

Accessories: Scallop Edge Punch, Big Shot, Simple Alphabet, Celebrations Designer Paper, Celebrations Accents, 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, Brights Buttons.

15 thoughts on “Birthday Countdown!

  1. That is a fantastic card! Wonderful colors! Great work!

  2. Hi Carrie; Such a cheerful and bright card – I love it! I’ve chosen you to receive the Stylish Blogger Award. Please visit my blog for more details.
    Cynthia Stevenson

  3. This card is phenomenal!! I love it! There’s so much texture and FUN happening–yet it’s a wonderfully cohesive card. I saved it in my favorite folder. πŸ™‚

  4. This is such a wonderful card! I love the way you did the ‘h’ and the ‘b’. And the arrow border… Clever!!

  5. This is adorable, Carrie. My daughter was by the computer when I opened it up and liked it as well. Great take on the sketch and use of the chipboard letters. Great card πŸ™‚

  6. I just love this card!!! I will be featuring it on My Craft Picks #6 on 3-6-11. If you wish to decline please email me at trbauer@insightbb.com

    Take care!!

  7. You had me at Celebrations. I have linked you to my blog, cause you are all that. And a bag of chips.

  8. Love those sweet little birthday banners – CC!

  9. Great use of the Celebrations line! I like the big letters with sentiment banners πŸ™‚

  10. Very nicely done!!! Love this card!

  11. The litte arrow border is such a cute idea. The vibrant colors make for a great birthday card!

  12. Oh my! This is just GORGEOUS!!! So happy to have found your blog and will follow along!

  13. Fabulous card! It really pops! I love it!

  14. Love this! Such a happy card!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

