Artistic Avenger

Post Regional Fun!

18 Comments

So today was the SU Regional in Vancouver – it was so much fun! I loved spending the day with so many friends and downline members.  I learned a lot and just had a great time!

When I got home and started putting things away, I suddenly was inspired to actually craft something! Of late I’ve been working a lot so have not had the best of creative juices but today I was ready to create! We were given the Nature Walk stamp set at Regionals so I had to use that one!

The starting point for this was two challenges: Pals Paper Arts (scallops) and Stamping 411 sketch.

The base of this card is Crumb Cake but it is cut down a bit and layered on Early Espresso and then Marina Mist. I layered the base with a piece of Crumb Cake designer paper that I ran through my Big Shot and textured and then sponged and splattered with ink.

The next layer is Early Espresso and if you look closely, there are some ribbon scallops on the bottom. I made these with 5/8″ Early Espresso grosgrain and my Pennant Die.

Over the scallops I added a bow of linen thread, an Old Olive button and two of the images cut out from Nature Walk.

I wanted to incorporate scallops somewhere else on the card so I added a small piece of Old Olive cardstock that was punched with the Dotted ribbon punch to the right. And, the eggs. This was the first idea I came up with for this card. Mask the eggs in various colours to make them look like they are scalloped – maybe a little creative license here but I like it!

To finish off, I added a trinket with a basic pearl in the centre and a piece of Twill Tape on which I stamped the sentiment “thanks” from Thank You Kindly in Early Espresso ink.

Regional events are certainly one of the many amazing reasons to be a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator. Interested in what some of the other reasons are? Let me know by contacting me today and I’ll do my best to answer all of your questions.

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Marina Mist, Bashful Blue, Old Olive, Early Espresso, Crumb Cake.

Ink: Marina Mist, Bashful Blue, Old Olive, Early Espresso, Crumb Cake.

Stamps: Nature Walk, Thank You Kindly.

Accessories: Big Shot, Neutrals designer paper, Brights Buttons, Linen Thread, 5/8″ Early Espresso grosgrain, Trinkets, Basic Pearls, 3/8″ Twill Tape, Pennant Die.

18 thoughts on “Post Regional Fun!

  1. I love the post-Regionals creative burst!! What a great card with this new set. So glad you had fun…thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow Carrie! I am inspired to play with this set now! I was at the Friday Regionals in Vancouver, I just missed you! Maybe one day we will meet! I am just a hop and ferry ride away on VI.
    Smiles,
    Lesley

  3. I think the Carrie Component here is the fact that you spent the day at Regionals and still had the energy to come home and create this beautiful card! Love the background paper with the eggs!

  4. This is amazing– you are so talented!

  5. I love your work and check your blog daily. I was at my first Regionals as a demonstrator yesterday and had a great time. You have inspired me to do more with this set. Thank you for sharing!

  6. WOW!!!!! LOVE this card! The eggs in the background are inspired! Wonderful details. As always, I’m in AWE of your talent!

  7. Stunning per usual Carrie!! Love the egg background, the scallops, and all of the other special elements you added. Wow.

  8. Oh my… another breathtaking beauty.. You are so talented Carrie! Thanks so much for playing along with stamping 411..

  9. Carrie! I have been trying to resist this set but you are making it extra hard! This card is just fab!!! So great that I’m giving you a stylish blogger award!

  10. This card is just gorgeous! I immediately noticed the eggs and wondered how you did it. A work intensive card, but well worth the effort!

  11. Too fabulous! That background is to die for gorgeous! It just totally completes this creation.

  12. Terrific card! Love your use of scallops! Thanks so much for playing along with us at PPA this week.

  13. You know I LOVE your work and this card is no different!! LOVE IT!!!!

  14. WOW! That card is so full of inspiration . . . I think I could study it for an hour and find it as fresh at the end as I did at the beginning! Truly a work of art, Carrie!!
    Hugs –
    Kay

  15. Wow, that card is fantastic! Full of awesome details! Love the ribbon scallops, the twill sentiment and the masked eggs 😀

    Cindy

  16. Carrie, this is truly a work of art. Your “scallop” theme can be seen everywhere on this card. Personally, I love the eggs and the scalloped ribbon! Gorgeous!

  17. Carrie — the detail in this card is just amazing! It is so beautiful! Thanks for sharing your talent with us all and thanks for playing along this week at Stamping 411! Blessings, Gretchen

  18. LOVE the way you layered the eggs!! WOW!! Must have been time consuming. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

