Artistic Avenger

For My “Marvellous” Valentine

11 Comments

Can you believe that I actually got some “me time” this week? Seems like it has been FOREVER since that has happened!

First, I wanted to thank you all for enjoying my last two projects so much. I have received so many private messages and comments on them – thank you to each and every one of you. It warms my heart. I have such fun creating these projects and I’m thrilled that they inspire you to create as well!

This card above was initially started by just the colour combination at ColourQ this week – Rich Razzleberry, Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze and Peach Parfait. I just loved it! I thought these were not your typical Valentine’s colours but I thought it’d be fun to make them into one. And at SUO Challenges, they’ve got a Valentine’s Challenge this week too!

The base is Peach Parfait and I’ve layered it first with Rich Razzleberry and then with Cajun Craze. On the Cajun layer I have textured it with the Vintage Wallpaper Embossing folder and sponged it. I then ran it through my sewing machine along one edge and to take a bit of the excessive white out of the thread, I sponged it with Peach Parfait ink.

Now for the fun stuff! I first brayered a piece of Newsprint designer paper with Rich Razzleberry ink and roughed it up. I adhered it on the card base on an angle and even used the Spiral edge punch a little on the top.  Then, I added some Peace Parfait ribbon on an angle in the upper left.

For the main image, I used Whisper White cardstock and stamped the Eiffel Tower from Artistic Etchings in Basic Black. I then used my Crumb Cake ink pad and a blender pen to colour in and outline for a little extra pop. I sponged the edges first with Peach Parfait and then with Cajun Craze for depth. I stamped the large circular image in Peach Parfait and if you look closely, the cool emblem in Crumb Cake.

The saying is clipped on with a Mini Library Clip and is again from the Newsprint designer paper (I sponged this with Peach Parfait). And lastly, a couple of button embellishments – a Rich Razzleberry button with a Peach Parfait cardstock bow and a Crumb Cake button with a Glimmer brad in the centre.

I really love the look and feel of this card and I hope you enjoy it too! Have a great weekend!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Rich Razzleberry, Peach Parfait, Cajun Craze, Whisper White.

Ink: Rich Razzleberry, Peach Parfait, Cajun Craze, Basic Black, Crumb Cake.

Stamps: Artistic Etchings.

Accessories: Big Shot, Vintage Wallpaper Embossing folder, Neutral Buttons, Bold Brights Buttons, Mini Library Clips, Peach Parfait ribbon, Newsprint designer paper, Blender pen, brayer, glimmer brads.

11 thoughts on “For My “Marvellous” Valentine

  1. Love it–really out of the box for Valentines and I am really tired of playing with red and white. Gonna have to try to copy this one for sure. Thanks for getting my juices flowing early today.

  2. This card is amazing – I love the set, the background the colors – you did a great job on this.

  3. I love how you cut the sentiment from the Newsprint…you always know how to think outside the stampin’ box!

  4. Love all the little details as usual Carrie!

  5. Carrie, this is one terrific card. Love what you did with the colors! thanks for playing the colourQ challenge this week.

  6. this is stunning, Carrie!

  7. Love the vintage look of this!! And all your “stuff” on it is fabulous! Great way to use the colors. Thanks for playing at the ColourQ!

  8. The CC: The newsprint – it’s colored, it’s crinkled, it’s distressed and it’s the sentiment!

  9. Wow, what a fantastic card! I love the colours and I love the design – can’t believe all of the fabulous details you’ve crammed in there!

  10. LOVE the brayer on the newsprint and the vintagey feel of this card! Great job Carrie!! Thanks so much for playing with us at SUO Challenges!!! I love your work. 🙂

  11. This is a beautiful card! Amazing use of the colors and I, too, love that you brayered the DSP. So glad to see you again at SUO Challenges!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

