Artistic Avenger

Pretty Purses

26 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary there is a fantastic inspiration challenge! Now I am not one to usually use pink – I mean I love it but I don’t use it too often. However this week, the inspiration photo called for a big dose of pink and black! Oh, and I was inspired by the sketch at the Paper Players this week!

The base for this card is Blushing Bride. On the far right, I used the Delight in Gladness Builder Wheel and then on the left I embossed a piece of Blushing Bride designer paper with the Framed Tulips Embossing Folder and sanded it to reveal a little bit of white.

The vertical layer is some Basic Black designer paper backed with Whisper White. Now for the super fun part of this card.

The focal panel is Basic Black and layered with Whisper White. On it, I added three purses. However, I made these purses with the Build-A-Cupcake Punch! The half-circle flaps are made using the 3/4″ circle punch and the handles are made by first punching the 1/2″ circle punch and then around it with the 3/4″ circle punch. I added a little Basic Rhinestone as the button closure.

Behind this layer I added some Whisper White organza which I looped and to it added a Basic Black button tied on with some 1/8″ Whisper White taffeta ribbon.

For the sentiment, I stamped a part of the sentiment from Create a Cupcake in White StazOn on some Basic Black cardstock. I cut it out and added it on with dimensionals.

Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along and also check out what the design team has come up with!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Blushing Bride, Basic Black.

Ink: White StazOn, Blushing Bride.

Stamps: Create a Cupcake, Delight in Gladness Builder Wheel.

Accessories: Builder Wheel, Whisper White Organza Ribbon, Neutral Buttons, 1/8″ Whisper White taffeta ribbon, Build-A-Cupcake punch, 1/2″ circle punch, 3/4″ circle punch, Basic Rhinestones, Neutral Designer Paper, Big Shot, Framed Tulips Embossing Folder, In Colour Designer Paper.

26 thoughts on “Pretty Purses

  1. This is so cool, Carrie – love the purses and the altered sentiment!

  2. What a darling, cute and clever way to use the cupcake set. Wow.

  3. Oh my – how cute is that?! You are so creative – I will definitely be “borrowing” your little purse idea! Thanks for sharing! LOVE your work!

  4. Absolutely amazing!!! I so love this! How great!!! I’m sharing with my friends right now.

  5. Carrie this card is awesome. One of the best I’ve ever seen you create! The cupcake punch purse is sure to be a hit with everyone………. so cute. TFS! Love it!

  6. This is absolutely amazing, Carrie!!! My kids had a Kindergarten teacher that has a shoe and purse fettish who would be over the moon for this card! Well one 🙂

  7. Great use of the punch Carrie! The pink is feminine without being too girly.

  8. Brilliant as always! Seriously, where do come up with this stuff?!

  9. OMG, you used the cupcake bottoms as a purse! They are so cute…I am definitely going to be making some purses with that punch. You rock!

  10. This is so clever! And what a great idea! Love your card!!

  11. Ph, Carrie- I love this card! The purses are so cute- now I will have to buy that punch! Love the choice of colors and all of the texture- great job! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

  12. I forget how I found your blog, but I’ve been following it for a few months now. You are so clever! Honestly! I love your creations. I wish you were my neighbor 🙂

  13. There is something fabulous about this card! The Carrie Component: Cupcake Purses!

  14. This is so cute and very clever. I love using the punch to create the purses – now why didn’t I think of that?

  15. This card is so cute! Love the purses and love all the layers!

  16. Yeah! I have that Cupcake Punch! Love the way you cleverly used the sketch. This card is perfect in Pink and Black.
    Thanks for joining us again at the Paper Players Carrie!!!
    Smiles,
    Lesley

  17. Well, aren’t you the clever stamper!! Now, I wished I had that punch and stamp set! Hmm, I will be placing an order for my club this weekend…

    Thanks for sharing that great idea!

  18. Thanks so much for sharing your cupcake punch purses – they are just darling. I sure will be using this card in my upcoming classes.

    Midge

  19. Oh to have just an ounce of your creativity! This is stunning, Carrie and just perfect in pink and black! Thanks for joining us again at The Paper Players!

  20. You are very talented! I love what you have done!

  21. I love the way you did just a partial frame of the tulip embossing folder. Great idea! Very nice card!!!

  22. Adorable card! Love your little purses.

  23. I love this card! I wouldn’t have thought to use that punch for purses. Too cute!

  24. You rock! The purses are great! I collect antique purses and this is so cute!

  25. What a pretty card. How creative to use the cupcake punch to make the purses. Thanks for sharing this idea.

  26. These are adorable! I just happened to see someone’s CASE of this card on Stampin’ Connection and so I had to come searching for your blog. Great samples and ideas!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

