Artistic Avenger

Hope Your Birthday is “Tweet”

10 Comments

I was feeling a lack of mojo this weekend so I pulled two different challenges out to try to find it. The first challenge I was trying to work with was this week’s Colour Q 68 and the Pals Paper Arts sketch challenge was the second. WOW – what a humdinger of a pair! Then I stop by Stampin’ Royalty and see they have a “with wings” challenge – perfect!

With the colours from the challenge, I wanted to use a lot of white as they are all pretty rich. Also, I wanted to skew the sketch down to more of a collage shaped size of panels. So here is what I did.

The base is Whisper White and then I layered it with Always Artichoke and another layer of Whisper White on which I doodled around the edge. The smallest horizontal panel is Cherry Cobbler layered with So Saffron and in behind that is a piece of Poppy Parade designer paper backed with Cherry Cobbler. Across those, I added some Cherry Cobbler Seam Binding.

Next, I added some Always Artichoke and over that extended a long piece of Vellum cardstock. On that vellum layer I stamped a birdcage and stand from Aviary in Jet Black StazOn. Then I added a cut out birdcage with hanger and brad and a little sentiment from On your Birthday on some Poppy Parade cardstock.

I very much took my own creative license with this but isn’t that what online challenges are all about? Why don’t you get on out there and pick a great challenge and take part?

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Whisper White, Always Artichoke, So Saffron, Cherry Cobbler, Poppy Parade, Cardstock Vellum.

Ink: Poppy Parade, So Saffron, Jet Black StazOn.

Stamps: Aviary, On Your Birthday.

Accessories: Cherry Cobbler Seam Binding, Neutral Brads, Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker.

10 thoughts on “Hope Your Birthday is “Tweet”

  1. Fabulous card Carrie. You rocked all these challenges. Thanks for playing with us at Stampin’ Royalty this week.

  2. Phenomenal layers. Love the birdcage on the vellum. Thanks for playing with Stampin’ Royalty.

  3. Looks like you got your Mojo back in a big way. Beautiful card.

  4. That is so amazing. A lot of work went into that card and I’ve never used the happy o’birthday stamp but it works on this card. Great job.

  5. You are such an artist and have so many wonderful details on your card that my post would go on forever! So I have decided from now on I am just going to mention what I think is the Carrie Component that makes your card fabulously you! Today’s Carrie Component:: The vellum sheet that makes the little birdcage pop! Wowza!

  6. What a great card! Love the use of vellum – changes the whole look of the card!

  7. Wow! For someone with a “lack of mojo”, this is pretty amazing. I love the rich colors, the dimension, the vellum. A real winner!

  8. You go girl 🙂 Great take on the challenges and another wonderful card. Thanks again for the wonderful drop by the other day (((hugs))). Missed seeing your smiling face on Sunday. I survived teaching second service – phew.

  9. This is very cool, love the idea of layering the cage images… Awesome..TFS

  10. Delightful card! So much fun to look at! Thanks so much for playng along with us at PPA this week!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

