Artistic Avenger

For My Friend (who I miss already) – Inkspirations Challenge #54

12 Comments

So I think I mentioned once already this week that my friend has moved to Iowa. I’m sad and miss her terribly. So she was my inspiration for this card because she loves to read. That and the latest Inkspirations Challenge! You’ve gotta get on over to the Inkspirations Challenge Blog and see what’s up for this week! A great colour challenge!

The base for this project is Very Vanilla and I layered it with a horizontal panel of Pear Pizzazz. I scalloped the bottom and distressed the sides but that’s it.

On that is a layer of Early Espresso and on that Very Vanilla and a layer of Blushing Bride. On this layer I stamped the large floral stamp from Elements of Style in Chocolate Chip Craft ink and embossed with clear embossing powder. Then I took a little bleach and bleached out a few flowers. I also added some random Basic Pearls for a little somethin’-somethin’. At the top I added a sentiment with a little flower embellishment using the Bitty Punch Bundle.

Now, for my favourite part…..

That long draping ribbon piece! Not only does it look nice but it’s actually a bookmark. What I did was decorate end using a Bevelled Windowpane (from the Occasions Mini), taking on an Antique Brad and pinning on some crochet lace with a Trinket.

The ribbon is actually folded upon itself in behind this panel and tied with some linen thread. Then on the very bottom is a matching button. With the weight of the embellishment on the end, there is no need to add adhesive to the ribbon and she can just slide it out and use it in her latest novel.

I encourage you to try your hand at this week’s challenge – it’s a great one! We’d love for you to play at Inkspirations!

Now let’s see what the rest of the design team has come up with!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Blushing Bride, Early Espresso.

Ink: Chocolate Chip craft, Early Espresso.

Stamps: Elements of Style, Tiny Tags.

Accessories: Scallop Border Punch, Clear Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Basic Pearls, 5/8″ Early Espresso Grosgrain, Crochet lace trim, Trinkets, Antique Brads, Beveled Windowpanes, Neutrals buttons, Bitty Punch Bundle.

12 thoughts on “For My Friend (who I miss already) – Inkspirations Challenge #54

  1. Wow, this is fantastic Carrie! I love the stamping on the blushing bride panel, with the bleached blossoms. The bookmark/embellie is just perfect. What a gorgeous gift for your friend. 🙂

  2. Love it! Can’t wait til I get my order in and play with those windowpanes. I see a bookmark in my future.

  3. Beautiful! I know your friend will love it.

  4. I’m sorry you’re missing your friend, Carrie. What a gorgeous gift to have made for her. I love all the beautiful details! Have a great day, lady!

    xo B.

  5. Another gorgeous card your friend will love it.

  6. I’m sorry your friend had to movw away, but to Iowa!!! What a great state! Tell her to contact me if she ever needs a stamping buddy!

  7. She’s going to love it 🙂 What a wonderful idea and gift for her. Great use of this week’ s colours. Enough rain for you – ugh!!

  8. This is absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Wow, that embellishment you did with the windownpane is fabulous!! Great use of this new item!

    Cindy 🙂

  10. wow, this is totally gorgeous, Carrie!

  11. Hi Carrie
    So sorry to hear you are missing your friend. My sister moved away last year so I know how you must be feeling. I am so thankful for skype as we can keep in touch and I still get to see her and my niece and nephew.
    Your card is just darling, and the idea of the bookmark is very, very clever. I love the image you have used and how you’ve bleached the flowers. The sentiment is just gorgeous too. You rocked the colours this week Carrie.

  12. All of the details are incredible, Carrie – your friend will love it I’m sure 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

