Artistic Avenger

For my “fancy” Friend

27 Comments

So I have this friend. Even at 6am on a camping trip she looks good. After a very late night she looks good. So I call her “fancy” (but you have to imagine me saying it drawn out like “faaaannnccccyyyy”).

My fancy friend and I recently had a very dear friend and her family move away (to Iowa of all places!) and we’re all a bit sad so I thought I’d make my fancy friend a special fancy card so she knew I was thinking about her and I’m totally in the same sad space.

To start, I was inspired by two online challenges – the sketch at Stamping 411 and the colours at The Paper Players.

Really, this card is pretty easy to figure out – no big tricks here. The base is Baja Breeze and I’ve layered it with a piece of Very Vanilla which has a piece of River Rock designer paper on the bottom. I ran both of these layers through my new sewing machine – yes, I have one of my very own!

The central panel has a sentiment from All Holidays which I stamped in a combination of the challenge colours: Rose Red, Baja Breeze and River Rock. Now I did cut out the ampersand (&) in River Rock cardstock as it just wasn’t coming out right. I also spritzed it with Shimmer Mist paint and added a few basic pearls.

For Miss Fancy Owl, I’ve given her a layered dress using Elegant Soiree designer paper and a string of pearls. She is also donning some eyelash extensions.

What a fun card to make and I hope my fancy friend likes it. Why don’t you make a card (and send it!) for someone today, just because?

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: River Rock, Very Vanilla, Rose Red, Baja Breeze.

Ink: Rose Red, Baja Breeze.

Stamps: All Holidays.

Accessories: Neutrals designer paper, Scallop Trim punch, Neutral Buttons, linen thread, Very Vanilla Taffeta Ribbon, Owl punch, Elegant Soiree DSP, basic pearls, sewing machine.

27 thoughts on “For my “fancy” Friend

  1. I love the “fancy” eyelashes and the dress. Super cute.

  2. Darling card, Carrie. Love her layered dress and necklace – very fancy LOL! I’m sure you’re friend will greatly appreciate it 🙂

  3. This is such an adorable card!! Love it! I always like to see what great ideas you have!

  4. awesome card Carrie – very creative. I love your fancy owl.

  5. Hahaha! That Owl looks FAB-U-LOUS DAHling!!! I love her cute little dress and her eyelashes…so clever! I know your fancy friend will LOVE it!!
    Thanks for joining us at the Paper Players Carrie!!
    Smiles,
    Lesley

  6. Great card Carry, I have one of those “fancy friends” too, who is just perfect in everyway. I’m sure you’re fancy friend will love this card, and I know when I case it for my “fancy friend” she will too. By the way
    those little ruffle layers on the dress look like denim. Cute!

  7. I love your owl’s fancy dress complete with pearl necklace, too clever!! Thanks for playing along with Stamping 411 again this week Carrie 🙂

  8. Adorable, Carrie! I love all of the “fancy” touches! I am sure your fancy friend will love it. As for your other dear friend, I applaud her good taste in moving to Iowa! LOL

  9. This just cracks me up! What a cute little owl—very fancy indeed! I just may have to CASE this as I haven’t even opened my owl punch yet and it needs to get some love!

  10. This has got to be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. You are amazing!

  11. Oh, how I love this one!!! The owl is fantastically cute! 😀

  12. This is quite the hoot! So creative and silly!

  13. Uhhhhh…you’re awesome. xo B.

  14. Oh, this is so cute! Love the eyelashes, dress, pearls and all of the other details! Thanks for playing with us at The Paper Players!

  15. Just love the dolled up owl! Fabulous!

  16. Love those eyelashes. Once again Carrie, you’ve knocked it out of the park!

  17. Carrie…I love your FAANNNCYYY owl! Wonderful!

  18. Isn’t she a hoot?! Sorry, couldn’t help myself! This is just so stinkin’ cute and creative, Carrie! LOVE her eyelashes and pearl necklace!! So glad you could join us at the Paper Players! 🙂

  19. This is to CUTE AND FANCY. I love how you said your friend is FANCY @ 6 am. To much work for me but some love it!!!!!!

    Thanks for sharing
    Faaannnnccccyyyy Friend (LOL)

  20. The faaaaaaaaanciest lady owl EVER!
    Thanks for the smile!

  21. Love it! this will be on my punch inspiration blog post tomorrow. TFS

  22. Cutest card. Love the eyelashes

  23. LOVE IT! Your “fancy” card is just perfect! Your owl is charming!

  24. SUPER! SUPER, LOOKING CARD!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  25. i finally had a few spare moments and sat to catch up on your blog. this is definitely one of the cutest cards ever!! my darling grandma collected owls and they always make me smile. and i really miss you and fancy randi too. at least we have our skype dates!! love you carrie.

  26. Just found your blog and love your style. I am also a Sweet Adeline and when we compete, it’s the whole 9 yards with false eyelashes and bling-a-ling all around. This would be a great card for our director. Thanks for the inspiration and the smile!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

