Artistic Avenger

On a Blustery Day…

7 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary there is a fantastic theme challenge to round out the holiday season – Let it Snow.

For my creation this week I thought I’d share something I made for my holiday decor, a wonderful canvas project.

First, I started with a flat canvas that was white. I cut out some snowflakes with my Big Shot and the Snowflakes #2 die using some bulk Decor Element sheets. I then adhered to the canvas.

After that, I took a mixture of Champagne Mist shimmer paint and Baja Breeze Reinker. I painted the canvas all over except for the very bottom. I masked it out so it would look like  snowbank. After all the painting was done, I used some sponges and my Not Quite Navy ink and sponged around the outer edge.

Next, I adhered the Dasher Decor Element. Being that this was on a textured surface, it was hard to adhere so after it was all on I painted it with some Modge Podge to make sure it’d stay put.

Lastly, I added some Basic Rhinestones and with my Tombow added a bead of glue and some Dazzling Diamonds on the top of the snowbank and under the feet of Dasher.

This was a super fun project to make and I got rave reviews over the holiday season!

Let’s see what you all come up with for this challenge – head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and join us!

Products used on this project:

Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint, Baja Breeze Reinker, Not Quite Navy ink, Stampin’ Sponges, Sizzix Big Shot, Snowflakes #2 die, Bulk Decor Element sheets, Tombow Multi Adhesive, Dazzling Diamonds, Basic Rhinestones, Dasher Decor Element (retired).

7 thoughts on “On a Blustery Day…

  1. This is GORGEOUS, Carrie! I know how challenging those antlers were to put on! What a wonderful holiday decoration!

  2. Absolutely stunning!! I love how you painted the canvas with the shimmer paint/reinker mixture. I bet it looks awesome in person. This will be one project I will certainly be trying for next year. Can I ask what size canvas you used and what you used for masking the bottom snow?

  3. Wow! That really sums it up…WOW!

  4. OMG! This is just amazing!! I love it! And what a super great idea!

  5. Beautiful Carrie! I went to school for art so this is right up my alley! Great job!

  6. Fabulously fantastic project! So creative and beautiful! 🙂

  7. This is absolutely beautiful – great job! And thanks for sharing!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

