Artistic Avenger

With Sympathy

7 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary, they’ve got a hum-dinger of a colour challenge! I had such a hard time trying to decide what to do with it. When I am faced with a colour challenge like this, I find that if I make white the major colour and just infuse the colours, that seems to work. That said, I made it even harder on myself by not completely following the colours. I used Elegant Eggplant instead of Rich Razzleberry!

For this project unfortunately, the idea is not a happy one. I recently had a friend lose her father so I needed to make a great card for her. So, I decided that these colours would work for this meaningful card.

The base is Whisper White and I made a woven panel in the centre which I backed with some River Rock and Night of Navy. I also backed it with another piece of Whisper White which I embossed in the Big Shot.

I added a butterfly punched out with Elegant Eggplant and it sparkles just a little bit with some Shimmer Paint spritz and a few little Basic Rhinestones.

Lastly, I added a little River Rock banner stamped with the sentiment from Teeny Tiny Wishes.

I’d love to see what you can come up with for this colour challenge so head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and try it out!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: River Rock, Whisper White, Night of Navy, Elegant Eggplant, Old Olive.

Ink: Night of Navy.

Stamps: Teeny Tiny Wishes.

Accessories: Big Shot, Butterfly punch, sticky strip, Basic rhinestones, Champagne mist Shimmer Paint.

7 thoughts on “With Sympathy

  1. Hi Carrie….I’m really sorry that you had to make this kind of card, that is always hard and so close to Christmas is especially difficult. The card you have made your friend though is just perfect. Great use of the colours and a very clever technique. The butterfly is a wonderful embellishment. Hope you have a lovely week. Xx

  2. Great card, I know it will make your friend smile each time she sees it. I love the woven panel and was wondering what the finished size is, what size strips of paper did you use and any other helpful tips you might have discovered when you made it?

  3. Such a lovely card! TFS

  4. WOW! This is so beautiful! Your friend will cherish it. Great job with this very challenging color challenge!

  5. The solo butterfly is so perfect for your woven panel. You rocked the challenge!

  6. This is a BEAUTIFUL card, I love the woven background. So sorry you had to make one…but it will be especially appreciated, I’m sure!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

